F60 :: Countryman Talk (2016+) F60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

E-Sys Coding on F60?

  #1  
Old 08-06-2017, 06:31 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E-Sys Coding on F60?

Hi all,

New around here, and new to Minis in general. Just took possession of my 2017 Countryman S All4, and there are a few things I'd like to modify so I've been doing some reading about using E-Sys to program things like disabling the seatbelt chime (yes, I'll still wear my seatbelt), allowing nav use while driving (yes, I only want this so my wife can enter nav destinations while I'm driving), enabling auto window up with the key fob, etc.

Anyone with an F60 done this? I see plenty of resources for older minis and BMWs, but curious if the same instructions apply for this model.

I have a ENET cable on the way, so I'm happy to give it a shot and report back, just figured I'd see if anyone had tried already and had success (or not) to report.
 
  #2  
Old 08-06-2017, 07:55 PM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by csader
Hi all,

New around here, and new to Minis in general. Just took possession of my 2017 Countryman S All4, and there are a few things I'd like to modify so I've been doing some reading about using E-Sys to program things like disabling the seatbelt chime (yes, I'll still wear my seatbelt), allowing nav use while driving (yes, I only want this so my wife can enter nav destinations while I'm driving), enabling auto window up with the key fob, etc.

Anyone with an F60 done this? I see plenty of resources for older minis and BMWs, but curious if the same instructions apply for this model.

I have a ENET cable on the way, so I'm happy to give it a shot and report back, just figured I'd see if anyone had tried already and had success (or not) to report.
E-Sys works with all F-series cars, so without a doubt, it will work. You may have to select F56, if F60 isn't listed.

Does the F60 not allow Nav input while driving? That's new. My F56 always did, even before coding.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-2017, 07:59 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by darex View Post
E-Sys works with all F-series cars, so without a doubt, it will work. You may have to select F56, if F60 isn't listed.

Does the F60 not allow Nav input while driving? That's new. My F56 always did, even before coding.
Yeah, it locks down some functionality but not others.
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-2017, 08:17 PM
SkyJumpr16
SkyJumpr16 is offline
1st Gear
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My wife and I just picked up new 2017 F60 and F56. The coding doesn't seem to match any of the lists that have been published that I'm finding. I'll be curious what your experience will be.
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-2017, 04:52 AM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by SkyJumpr16
My wife and I just picked up new 2017 F60 and F56. The coding doesn't seem to match any of the lists that have been published that I'm finding. I'll be curious what your experience will be.
I intend to code my F60 pretty much as soon as I take it home. Certain things need to be, for my happiness:
- no legal disclaimers
- tire pressure & temp reading
- mirror folding w/door locking
- BMW gongs
- radio off w/door opening
- full texts viewable w/SMS
- 5x soft turn signal
- GPS time sync
- iPhone inbound ringer
Etc., etc.
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-2017, 07:36 AM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by darex View Post
I intend to code my F60 pretty much as soon as I take it home. Certain things need to be, for my happiness:
- no legal disclaimers
- tire pressure & temp reading
- mirror folding w/door locking
- BMW gongs
- radio off w/door opening
- full texts viewable w/SMS
- 5x soft turn signal
- GPS time sync
- iPhone inbound ringer
Etc., etc.
When do you take possession? Some of those things seem annoyingly obvious. Do you know if the codes have changed from F56 to F60?
 
  #7  
Old 08-08-2017, 03:54 PM
I'mMelting
I'mMelting is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 113
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I will follow this with interest. My 2018 F60 will be here in a few weeks and I will definitely want to code it. I am searching for the correct E-Sys cable for the F60- but maybe too early to be available? If anyone has a link to a cable that will work with the F60, I will get it purchased. Many thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 08-08-2017, 05:12 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher's Avatar
Minnie.the.Moocher
Minnie.the.Moocher is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth PNW
Posts: 4,585
Received 354 Likes on 314 Posts
It's an OBD to ethernet cable, should be same for any F series car.
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-2017, 05:14 PM
I'mMelting
I'mMelting is offline
2nd Gear
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 113
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Got it and found one. Thanks MTM!
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-2017, 05:15 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher's Avatar
Minnie.the.Moocher
Minnie.the.Moocher is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth PNW
Posts: 4,585
Received 354 Likes on 314 Posts
  #11  
Old 08-08-2017, 05:52 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got my ENET cable, now waiting for 1 of 2 things to happen:

1. TokenMaster to give me an activation key so I can use E-SYS Launcher Premium on a VM on my Mac.
2. My brother to let me borrow his Windows PC so I can use it without waiting for an activation code.

Fingers crossed codes from F56 actually work on F60.
 
  #12  
Old 08-08-2017, 05:54 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SkyJumpr16 View Post
My wife and I just picked up new 2017 F60 and F56. The coding doesn't seem to match any of the lists that have been published that I'm finding. I'll be curious what your experience will be.
Were you still able to read the codes from the car? Curious if it'll just take a bit of translating to figure out.
 
  #13  
Old 08-08-2017, 08:02 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It worked! Borrowed a windows laptop and my cheap ENET cable off of Amazon worked great for reading and editing codes.

Couple of things:

1. Not all codes are in the same place as F56, but I was able to search for names of functions and found most of them. There were a couple that weren't there (or they were named something else that I couldn't figure out), like Unlock Door on Engine Off.

2. Some codes were already enabled that I didn't expect to be based on F56 forums, like Turn off MMI when door is opened and A/C remembers last setting.

3. Some codes don't seem to have worked: Enable Turn Signals in HUD, Enable Speech Input for SMS, Display tire temp.

I also can't seem to find the code for folding the mirrors when I press the comfort access button on the door handle to lock the car.


But here's what I did get working:
Disable Welcome Gongs
Turn off seatbelt reminder chimes
Close windows, sunroof, and mirror from keyfob
Illuminate door handle LEDs on reverse
Remove legal disclaimers

And a few I haven't tested yet, but was able to code:
Change mirror to unfold at 12mph
Set cell phone ringtone as primary
Turn on brake force flashing with hard brake
Video in motion
Enable video from usb
Enable saving video files to NBT hard drive
Disable Office speed function lockout
Enable full text lines while driving
Enable timestamp for call log
 
  #14  
Old 08-09-2017, 04:53 AM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by csader
Got my ENET cable, now waiting for 1 of 2 things to happen:

1. TokenMaster to give me an activation key so I can use E-SYS Launcher Premium on a VM on my Mac.
2. My brother to let me borrow his Windows PC so I can use it without waiting for an activation code.

Fingers crossed codes from F56 actually work on F60.
F48 owners (BMW X1) successfully code in F056 mode, so you'll have no problem. All F-series cars share the same wiring and electronic systems. It's only a question of some codes being ineffective, because of unsupported features, e.g. turn signals in the HUD doesn't work in F30, F56, etc.
 
  #15  
Old 08-09-2017, 05:04 AM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by csader
.

3. Some codes don't seem to have worked: Enable Turn Signals in HUD, Enable Speech Input for SMS, Display tire temp.

I also can't seem to find the code for folding the mirrors when I press the comfort access button on the door handle to lock the car.
Turn signals in HUD won't work.

Speech input for SMS? Just hold down (versus push) voice button on steering wheel, and it will activate SIRI Handsfree, and you can just have "her" compose an SMS.

Tire temp you should DEFINITELY be able to do, but I forget the section. Look in HU_NBT though, I would think.

Mirror-folding is Spiegel Beiklappen bei Komfort Schlie├čung, or something similar. I refined my coding yesterday, to where it now folds IMMEDIATELY upon locking doors (werte=0 [seconds]).

I would very very shocked if any coding possibilities that work on F56 do not also work on F60. I won't have my F60 until next month, however.
 
  #16  
Old 08-09-2017, 05:24 AM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Csader:

HU_NBT 3001 RDC_SAFETY and/or RDC_Druck_Temp

Default: Druck

Change to:
Druck und Temeratur = Aktiv

Let us know.

This is a helpful list:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bwv...hKSWdRTDg/view
 
The following users liked this post:
janinefm (02-26-2018)
  #17  
Old 08-09-2017, 02:20 PM
csader
csader is offline
Neutral
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by darex View Post
Mirror-folding is Spiegel Beiklappen bei Komfort Schlie├čung, or something similar. I refined my coding yesterday, to where it now folds IMMEDIATELY upon locking doors (werte=0 [seconds]).
You got yours to fold immediately when you press the comfort access button on the door handle? Mine does immediately when I use the keyfob, just not from the handle. If I hold for 1 sec, it does.
 
  #18  
Old 08-09-2017, 10:11 PM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by csader
You got yours to fold immediately when you press the comfort access button on the door handle? Mine does immediately when I use the keyfob, just not from the handle. If I hold for 1 sec, it does.
I used to have to hold it down for 2 seconds. Now, I just hold it down, and it immediately folds. If I merely press the comfort access button, it locks only, without mirror-folding.
 
  #19  
Old 08-28-2017, 12:58 PM
f60jcw's Avatar
f60jcw
f60jcw is offline
4th Gear
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 328
Received 39 Likes on 32 Posts
I gotta get this going too. My 2018 F60 needs some E-SYS love. How does one get the E-SYS software?
 
  #20  
Old 08-28-2017, 02:01 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher's Avatar
Minnie.the.Moocher
Minnie.the.Moocher is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth PNW
Posts: 4,585
Received 354 Likes on 314 Posts
http://www.ebay.com/itm/OBD2-ENET-Et...8AAOSwMtxXskye

This seller has online guides, tutorials and actually answers emailed questions. You can probably buy a $10 cable, but I like his support of the project and I know his cable works.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Minnie.the.Moocher:
ddoggerel (09-21-2017), f60jcw (08-28-2017)
  #21  
Old 08-28-2017, 02:28 PM
f60jcw's Avatar
f60jcw
f60jcw is offline
4th Gear
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 328
Received 39 Likes on 32 Posts
Very cool! Just ordered it!
 
  #22  
Old 09-23-2017, 07:04 AM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Odd thing: the one thing I have failed to code is tire temps. I easily did it on my F56, but it just doesn't seem to take on the F60. Anyone have any luck doing that?
 
  #23  
Old 09-30-2017, 01:30 PM
siriuszero's Avatar
siriuszero
siriuszero is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 1,599
Received 31 Likes on 24 Posts
See responses below in bold red

Originally Posted by csader View Post
1. Not all codes are in the same place as F56, but I was able to search for names of functions and found most of them. There were a couple that weren't there (or they were named something else that I couldn't figure out), like Unlock Door on Engine Off.
Look in BDC for one of these three parameters and change to "aktiv". They seem to vary depending on which software version you have:
VAM_UNLOCK_KL15OFF_AFTER_PIA_AUTO_LOCK
CLI_DEFAULT_UNLOCK_AFTER_END_OF_DRIVING
CLM_UNLOCK_KL15OFF_AFTER_PIA_AUTO_LOCK


2. Some codes were already enabled that I didn't expect to be based on F56 forums, like Turn off MMI when door is opened and A/C remembers last setting.
True, though sometimes it will depend on region and model year. For example, my stock F55 did not turn off the radio when the doors opened, but most 2017s and all 2018s seem to have this standard.

3. Some codes don't seem to have worked: Enable Turn Signals in HUD, Enable Speech Input for SMS, Display tire temp.
As mentioned before, turn signals is a dead end, Speech input as well though Siri works better anyway, Display tire temp is in HU_NBT and change "RDC_SAFETY" to "aktiv"

I also can't seem to find the code for folding the mirrors when I press the comfort access button on the door handle to lock the car.
This one is tricky. There's 5 parameters to change, all in BDC and you need comfort access equipped:
KOMFORTSCHLIESSUNG_FB => aktiv
KOMFORT_SCHLIESSEN => change Werte value to "00"
ASP_BEIKLAPPEN => aktiv
ASP_BEIKLAPPEN_BEI_KOMFORTSCHLIESSEN =aktiv
ASP_AUSKLAPPEN_NACH_KOMFORTSCHLIESSEN = aktiv
If done correctly, windows and mirrors will close upon locking via the keyfob or comfort access button and will open on unlocking. For the mirrors to fold in, I find you have to hold the CA button for about a second, but they'll fold instantly via the keyfob



But here's what I did get working:
Disable Welcome Gongs
Turn off seatbelt reminder chimes
Close windows, sunroof, and mirror from keyfob
Illuminate door handle LEDs on reverse
Remove legal disclaimers

And a few I haven't tested yet, but was able to code:
Change mirror to unfold at 12mph
Set cell phone ringtone as primary
Turn on brake force flashing with hard brake <= Test this by braking hard at speed (doesn't need to be fast - 30 mph will do). I found on mine it would set off an lighting malfunction error on hard braking all the time if set to flash.
Video in motion
Enable video from usb
Enable saving video files to NBT hard drive
Disable Office speed function lockout
Enable full text lines while driving
Enable timestamp for call log
Here are some other awesome ones:
Remember driving mode on shut off (car remembers SPORT/GREEN mode)
In BDC:
FESALLOWMODE7LASTFUNCTION aktiv
FESALLOWMODE4LASTFUNCTION aktiv
FESLASTFUNCTIONINTERVAL werte=FF

Allow fog lights with high beams:
In BDC:
NSW_AUS_BEI_FL nicht_aktiv

Tail lights on with DRL:
In BDC:
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_1_H_L_OUTPUT sl_l
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_1_H_R_OUTPUT sl_r

Change delay in boot opening after kick to open for Comfort Access F54s and F60s:
in BDC:
CLM_TIMEOUT_HK_SMO wert_01 Value is in HEX by 0.1 secs

Disable trunk button if doors are locked (Comfort access still works the same):
In BDC:
VAM_DISABLE_OPEN_LID_AT_NOT_UNLOCKED aktiv

Change Startup animation on MINI Connected headunits:
In HU_NBT/HU_NBT2:
STARTUP_EMBLEM
These are the options for touchscreen units but the non-touch displays are similar:
variant_00=BMW Connected Services;
variant_01= BMW ///M;
variant_02=Alpina;
variant_03=BMW i;
variant_04=MINI;
variant_05=BMW Connected Drive;
variant_06=BMW Connected Drive Gold;
variant_07=John Cooper Works;
variant_08=New MINI Logo;
variant_09=BMW ///M Alt (less animation)

Change max radio volume on start:
In NBT:
VOL_MAX_ON werte=32 Value in HEX and expressed in percentages (00=0%, 19=25%, 32=50%, 64=100%)

Change system sounds
in NBT:
SOUND_SIGNAL_SET ==> BMW, BMW i, Rolls Royce, MINI
 
The following users liked this post:
janinefm (02-26-2018)
  #24  
Old 09-30-2017, 08:16 PM
darex
darex is offline
5th Gear
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 828
Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally Posted by siriuszero
See responses below in bold red Here are some other awesome ones:
Remember driving mode on shut off (car remembers SPORT/GREEN mode)
In BDC:
FESALLOWMODE7LASTFUNCTION aktiv
FESALLOWMODE4LASTFUNCTION aktiv
FESLASTFUNCTIONINTERVAL werte=FF

Allow fog lights with high beams:
In BDC:
NSW_AUS_BEI_FL nicht_aktiv

Tail lights on with DRL:
In BDC:
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_1_H_L_OUTPUT sl_l
MAPPING_TAGFAHRL_1_H_R_OUTPUT sl_r

Change delay in boot opening after kick to open for Comfort Access F54s and F60s:
in BDC:
CLM_TIMEOUT_HK_SMO wert_01 Value is in HEX by 0.1 secs

Disable trunk button if doors are locked (Comfort access still works the same):
In BDC:
VAM_DISABLE_OPEN_LID_AT_NOT_UNLOCKED aktiv

Change Startup animation on MINI Connected headunits:
In HU_NBT/HU_NBT2:
STARTUP_EMBLEM
These are the options for touchscreen units but the non-touch displays are similar:
variant_00=BMW Connected Services;
variant_01= BMW ///M;
variant_02=Alpina;
variant_03=BMW i;
variant_04=MINI;
variant_05=BMW Connected Drive;
variant_06=BMW Connected Drive Gold;
variant_07=John Cooper Works;
variant_08=New MINI Logo;
variant_09=BMW ///M Alt (less animation)

Change max radio volume on start:
In NBT:
VOL_MAX_ON werte=32 Value in HEX and expressed in percentages (00=0%, 19=25%, 32=50%, 64=100%)

Change system sounds
in NBT:
SOUND_SIGNAL_SET ==> BMW, BMW i, Rolls Royce, MINI
Nope. Tire Temps does not seem to exist on F60. Coded just as you say, twice, and although it worked on my F56, it hasn't worked on my F60.

I've looked all over KOMBI for anything to make the now white nighttime speedo readout in the HUD, orange, but it doesn't appear as though it's possible. Hard to believe it!
 
  #25  
Old 10-01-2017, 11:41 AM
siriuszero's Avatar
siriuszero
siriuszero is offline
6th Gear
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 1,599
Received 31 Likes on 24 Posts
Originally Posted by darex View Post
Nope. Tire Temps does not seem to exist on F60. Coded just as you say, twice, and although it worked on my F56, it hasn't worked on my F60.
Well boo
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: