Driver's School Discuss tips, techniques, and schools for enhancing the driver portion of the performance driving equation.

In-car Video for Driver's Schools and Trackdays

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2012, 06:53 AM
gnhovis
Reverse
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
In-car Video for Driver's Schools and Trackdays

I've been instructing at the track for a couple of years and was trying to find a (relatively) inexpensive way to integrate video and telemetry data. I wanted it to not be permanently wired to my car so I could take it along when I hop in a student's car too. Here's what I have so far:
  1. CruiseCam In-Car Headrest Camera Mount
  2. OptrixHD iPhone 4 case with wide-angle lens
  3. Dual XGPS150 Bluetooth external GPS
  4. PLX Devices KIWI Wifi OBD-II wireless interface
  5. Harry's Laptimer Pro software for iPhone
The CruiseCam arm mounts to the passenger side headrest. The Optrix HD mounts to the arm via quick release. The GPS mounts to the windshield via Velcro (everyone here has an EZpass toll device so velcro is in most cars). The PLX device plugs into the OBD-II port and the cable is stuffed away or strapped up using Velcro straps. Download the track you want to drive and Laptimer Pro starts recording automatically once you cross the designated starting point.

If you can't find a place to use the CruiseCam headrest mount, you can use an external camera (in this case a ReplayXD) with a clip-mount and integrate the video to your data later. This took a little experimentation to figure out but here's a relatively painless way to do it. You just need to know the visual reference for your start/end point in Laptimer. If it's a track, it's the start/finish line. I'm using an iMac, I imagine there's a similar path for Windows.)
  1. Figure out what the format of your video file is first. If it is a format that the iPhone can understand natively, skip ahead to step #3.