R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 r56 alternator swap?

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2014, 12:28 PM
erdletheterdle
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
r56 alternator swap?

Hey guys,
I'm new to the mini world as I am babysitting my buddie's r56 while he is in Afghanistan. My question is what is the best way to swap out the alternator on these cars? Also don't post "use the search button"..... I already have.

Old 08-22-2014, 10:15 AM
bit_bucket
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by erdletheterdle
Hey guys,
I'm new to the mini world as I am babysitting my buddie's r56 while he is in Afghanistan. My question is what is the best way to swap out the alternator on these cars? Also don't post "use the search button"..... I already have.
Couple of things to get your started. The alternator is packed in there and you need to put the radiator support into "service mode". This is a procedure that is readily available in the forums and elsewhere on the web. Just search for R56 Radiator Service Mode.

General Instructions for replacing the alternator:

1) Put the radiator assembly in "service mode". This is kind of involved, but not impossible with some normal tools. This is the procedure you can search out for. What this does is gives you a few more inches of front clearance to get at the alternator bolts.

2) Jack up and put car on jackstand on passenger side (US Car) Take the right side wheel off (passengers). Remove a few of the wheel well cover clips and peel back wheel well cover. This will aid in removing the pulley that drives the alternator.

3) Look for the little push ping attached to the pulley tensioner on the left front side of the engine bay as you are looking at it straight on. This will be near your charge air pipe which was moved out of the way when you did step 1 hopefully.