Suspension Springs, struts, coilovers, sway-bars, camber plates, and all other modifications to suspension components for Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Suspension lowered mini question

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2018, 11:43 AM
Kyle Lopes
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
lowered mini question

Purchasing BC 1 pieces for my 2003 mini cooper. I'm new to the mini community and just wondering how low these cars can go without dealing with problems? By problems I mean breaking axles and what not.

Old 01-14-2018, 03:45 PM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
Several threads here on lowering, one in particular said he went through several axles and decided to raise the car back up.

In stock form the MINI is a good curve cutter, put on a rear sway bar and is is even better. When you are on the Tail of the Dragon and most of the Corvettes/Mustangs/Camaros all pull over and then try to keep up, what more needs to be said.

Old 01-14-2018, 03:54 PM
vetsvette
Received 450 Likes on 343 Posts
Don't know about 1st Gen cars, but I've been running NM springs on my F56 for 1 1/2 years with no problems. Lowered 1.5" all around and handles even better than the OEM Sport suspension mine came with. Of course I also have the NM RSB and end links too, among other suspension mods.

Old 01-21-2018, 12:47 PM
daviday
3rd Gear
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts