Suspension F55 Suspension Options

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2016, 01:51 PM
Otisbarker
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
F55 Suspension Options

This is my first time posting here. I have a 2015 F55 S (added JCW tune kit + NM power module) with normal suspension and thinking about suspension mod.

Originally I was thinking about swapping with NM springs, but after reading the threads here, I'm in favor of spring & damper matching, and adjustability, so I'm leaning towards coilovers.

I see some here have put the JCW pro suspension kit (supplied by KW) on a F55. However, I see on KW's website there are different coilover part numbers depending if it's F56 or F55. But as far as I know, only 1 part number exists for the JCW coilover.

It leads me to think that the spring rates are different for F55 due to the added weight (more for the rear?), thus different part numbers for KW coilovers.

I like the appearance of the JCW, and also seems there are matched OEM bumpstops and isolators. But the ideal of 'matching' the right part with the KW V1 also appeals to me.

Can anyone give guidance if it is better to go with the KW V1 for the F55 over JCW coilover? Or maybe if I put on JCW coilovers the different spring rate for rear(?) between F56 and F55 won't be noticeable day-to-day?

Thanks.

Old 06-22-2016, 01:56 PM
Mini Mania
Banned
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Welcome to NAM, we'll do our best to help you out!

Here's the link for the F55:
http://new.minimania.com/part/G3NMS3...pring-Gen3-F55

You will need these as well:

http://new.minimania.com/part/G3NMS2...r-Gen3-F56-F55

Checking on the spring rates . . .

Drive Hard. Drive Safe. Keep Grinning.

Last edited by Mini Mania; 06-22-2016 at 02:05 PM.
Old 06-22-2016, 03:46 PM
Mini Mania
Banned
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
F55 Suspension

On the Gen3 MINIs, there is the stock Cooper S suspension and the Sport suspension which is about 30% stiffer. The JCW comes with the same suspension as the Cooper S Sport Suspension.