Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2018, 02:55 PM
sampleman
Neutral
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hi all,
New member here, very happy to have finally joined this community. So I have had my 102k Pepper White r53 for almost a year now, and recently took it to the dealer for a warrantied seat mat sensor replacement. Upon picking the car, they handed me a laundry list of repairs the the mini needed. I'm a good DIY mechanic and feel comfortable knocking down this list. ( Much to the service advisers chagrin)
I just wanted to check my reasoning with some of ya'll and get your input.

- For reference, my goal is to maintain the drivability of the vehicle, while extending its service life. Also, trying to keep within a reasonable budget.

- Order of completion for dealer suggested repairs
1. Lft front Wheel Bearing
2. Both Engine Mounts & Trans Mount
3. CV boot replacement ( will most likely replace both axle assemblies)
4. Manual Transmission Flush
5. Supercharger oil service and pulley upgrade /Water pump/Belt Tensioner/
6. Replace Spring/Strut assemblies ( bilstein B4)

-Repairs Completed
Valve cover gasket and pcv
Low power fan
Both outer ball joints
Cleaned and lubed sunroof
Greased door seals

Thanks in advance for all your help. There are a couple mini graveyards in Dallas that I have access to. Are there any parts here that could come from a salvage?

Cheers!

Last edited by sampleman; 02-14-2018 at 12:29 AM.
Old 02-07-2018, 03:48 PM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
You will save yourself some good money being able to do the work yourself.