Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Trying to understand N16 heavy soot on tailpipe

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2017, 07:34 PM
Le Pew
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Trying to understand N16 heavy soot on tailpipe

Im a newb w an N16 non-turbo/non-JWC automatic w a heavy soot/carbon on the tailpipe issue,
I understand many have a carbon issue w the DI, but from what Ive gathered by lurking is mine is not dirrect injection...but is my vehicle HIGH COMPRESSION?
It's so hard for me to sort out w so many engines, turbo, supercharged and na etc all R56.
W the compression question, Im getting at, do I NEED high octane or not??
Ive only filled up 2x since i got the car, once with recreational non-ethanol 93 and the last with Sunoco 91. Ive wiped down the tailpipe detailing tue car weekly and notice a reoccurring soot/carbon buildup each week, unlike Ive never seen, even with my heavy carboned 150k trade in.
Im also familiar w decarboning w additives such as seafoam, B12 as well a water injection...so Im not afraid, just trying to understand a few things to plan my attack.
Just filled up w Sunoco 91 and added 1/2 a can of Berryman's B12.

Also worth mentioning, the car has 33k and is 2013, I received the car and have driven it bout 1k w the OIL 1.5 QUARTS OVERFILL which I assume is from the 30k oil change noted on the CarFax service report. Naturally Ive drained this off once discovered and have noticed an improvement.
BUT could this be my soot/carbon issue?
Think a sparkplug change is in order as well??

If yall could clue me in on some of these details, Id greatly appreciate it...I dont really wanna waste any money aa tires are in ordee soon too.

Thanks! And Id like to say you have a wonderful community here, Ive quite enjoyed reading and learning about my new car!