Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Help me troubleshoot poor fuel economy

Old 03-14-2017, 09:01 AM
CSP
5th Gear
Received 38 Likes on 37 Posts
Help me troubleshoot poor fuel economy

The last 2 tanks I've averaged 18 and 19 mpg, respectively, with about 70/30 highway/city. From what I gather, it's about 7-8 mpg difference which is pretty significant with a 6 speed. I typically cruise around 75 mph on the highway and I'm not hooning around in the city.

Mods that I know of to the car are just a sprintex (69mm pulley) and CAI which wouldn't do much. I do have the torque app which I suppose could help track fuel usage, but I don't know how to read the logs because I'm a noob. I'd be willing to save some logs and post them here if someone could get anything useful out of it.

The only things I can think of are I either have a leak or bigger injectors. What other variables are there? I've never had a fuel issue like this before so how do I troubleshoot from here?

Old 03-14-2017, 10:00 AM
Zsm
4th Gear
Received 97 Likes on 80 Posts
Need more info.

-- Has the check engine light reared its ugly self? If so, any particular codes?

-- Fuel. Are you fueling up in the same gas station?

-- Air filter. Usually won't cause 30% change, but doesn't help if the filter is loaded up with crud.

-- When were the plugs, coils last changed?

-- How's the idle? Lumpy, hear a miss?

-- How's the exhaust? Smell rich? Sooty rear muffler / hatch area?

-- Are the brakes dragging? Sometimes the rear calipers can be warm due to pistons getting a little seized up in the bores. (That's not just a mini thing, it can happen to any car.)

-- Tire pressures? Up to spec? I'm always nagging my son to check his R53 since it's such an easy thing to do.