Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

2007 R56/N12 VANOS and Timing Chain Issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 10:17 AM
bflo
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 R56/N12 VANOS and Timing Chain Issues

Newbie here. Please do not quote.

I have been reading about the timing chain issues on the N14 engine, which from what I understand means 2007-2010 Cooper S.

I have a 2007 standard Cooper. It was the first year they did the model redesign. I think this means I have the N12 engine (based on other forum posts).

My Cooper seems to be suffering from the same issues that the N14 is. About 6 months ago I had a valve cover gasket and spark plugs that needed to be replaced. Fine, no big deal. I bit the bullet and paid for the local dealership to do the repair.

Then about a month ago I get a check engine line for O2 sensor and several VANOS solenoid issues. Mini said car didn't need repairs right away and could drive safely for a few weeks while I decided what to do about the repairs. I asked why the VANOS system would need parts replaced on a car with under 80k miles. The answer I received was low oil and that there were two tiny oil leaks. I had these leaks checked out by an independent shop (and the O2 sensor replaced with OEM part). They did not notice any oil leaks.