Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

Uh Oh, Vibration determined by Engine RPMS

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2008, 08:37 AM
DeanoTX
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Uh Oh, Vibration determined by Engine RPMS

I know there is a lot of vibration talk around here, but my problem seems to be of a different nature and all night of searching posts hasnt lead me to a conclusion. Im no expert, but I don't think this is a CV joint or axle b/c it doesn't seem to be correlated at all to car speed, just engine revs. I mostly do city driving, but last night i drove some 200 miles on straight freeways and it was much more noticable than in stop and go driving. I did some playing with it on my 3 hour road trip, attempting to figure out the source (tire, axle, engine) and here are my attempts at precise observations:

Driving at a constant 70 mph with 3k rpms: barely noticable

Accelerating from 70 to 80 while leaving the car in 6th gear: vibration strengthens in direct proportion to how hard I press the gas/how quickly I attempt to accelerate to 80.

Push in clutch and let engine revs drop to idle while coasting at 70, 80, or whatever: vibration is gone.

drive at 70 and in 6th and vibration is a slow frequency, drop down to 5th gear and maintain speed of 70, vibration is a faster frequency.

Vibration is felt at lower speeds, for instance in 2nd gear when accelerating hard from 2.5 k and upwards, but it is not nearly as pronounced b/c the engine isnt under as heavy a load and can rev more feely. It is at its worst when the engine is under the heaviest loads, ie accelerating in 6th gear w/o downshifing.