Solo A better approach to handling low speed corners?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2016, 07:16 AM
SupeR53
3rd Gear
Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts
A better approach to handling low speed corners?

I'm a novice AutoX'er who used to road race, so I'm in the habit of 'smoother is faster' which I've found isn't so in AX. For reference, I'm running an '05 MCS, 15% underdrive, 2% over crank pulley, UniChip, Milltek Exhaust, Koni sports, 25mm RSB, JCW intake, Bridgestone RE71Rs. I'm running BMW club B Street.
I run against a pair of JCWs including a GP2, and am 2 sec slower consistently. I've found myself pushing through medium speed corners and think that I've figured out how to get through them quicker, and would like some input about whether it makes sense.
What I'm thinking is that I need to get onto the brakes sooner and harder to get my speed down below the cars optimum speed for the corner, then get back onto the throttle, as I start to turn in, then when the car starts to push, roll off the throttle to rotate the car, and get back on it when its rotated to power out of the corner.
Its hard to try this on the street, but where I've been able to, it seems to get me lined up and out of the corner quicker.
Input please?

Old 09-10-2016, 07:08 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 67 Likes on 65 Posts
OK,

There are many factors that would account for the other MINIs to be 2 seconds faster.

One test which is a great one is to allow one of those "faster drivers" to drive your MINI and see what kind of time they get. If they can drive your MINI 1+ second faster than you or even better then video or observe how they do it and "copy" their approach.

Although you mention pushing through a corner as being a problem there are many things that happen both before and after that moment (of understeer).