R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

R60 Brakes What's Normal

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2015, 03:56 PM
Shomare
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brakes What's Normal

So our fine little Countryman is making terrible noises. Front driver's side rotor grinds when the brakes are put on.

We took it in for State inspection and had them look at the brakes while it was there. They said "it's normal".

I'm no mechanic but I know enough to be dangerous and I've never seen anything like the wear pattern on these front rotors. The top 3/4 of an inch has groves in it, not smooth like I would expect from even rotor wear.

So what gives? I feel they are playing us because it's my wife's car (you know the she's a girl, what does she know routine) and she has the extended service warranty on it. Get the distinct feeling that if it was on our dime they would be telling us we needed to replace the brakes.

Old 09-24-2015, 04:09 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
Brakes should be silent or darn close to it. What crappy dealer are you going to? Did you talk to the service mgr, then the general mgr, etc? My CM brakes started to squeal after 30000+ miles, just before needing new ones.

And if it's not the dealer, find a new shop.

Old 09-24-2015, 04:15 PM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts