R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

R60 Random Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2018, 11:02 AM
rumcuredcrook
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Post Random Misfire

Hi all, newbie here. I bought a 2012 Countryman S last year. I've come across a random misfire that I'm looking for help pinpointing. Here are the symptoms...

I am getting a random misfire when punching it. If I gradually build up my speed, no issues - even at 80+ mph. However if I really try to accelerate quickly by stomping on the gas pedal, I get some shakiness and rough running followed by a check engine light and the yellow flashing light indicating half engine power on the dashboard. It obvious that at that point, I am losing power as I can no longer accelerate at a fast pace. I've cleared the code several times and repeated the steps above with the same result each time.

My first thought was carbon build up. I did a Seafoam treatment but that didn't seem to help at all, although it did spit some gunk out of my tailpipes. I already changed the spark plugs and coils and that did not correct the issue. My next bet judging off what I've read on the forum is a walnut blast. I really hate taking my vehicles in to the stealership, so if I can avoid that, I would really be happy.

Other than carbon buildup, is it possible that there may be an issue with the turbo? My train of thought here is that the issue only seems to happen at high speed acceleration. I'm wondering if there's a boost leak somewhere that might be throwing things off.

I wouldn't call myself mechanically inclined, however, I know enough to get myself in trouble. I have done some pretty major repairs before but only after a ton of research and sometimes calling on the help of a friend. New to MINI and any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Old 01-18-2018, 11:11 AM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts