R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

R60 Where do you get your oil changed?

Old 10-31-2017, 06:42 AM
sgogo
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Where do you get your oil changed?

Hi! I am new to the Mini world. I just bought a used 2014 Mini Countryman S after my car flooded in Harvey. It is so fun to drive! I have a ton of questions but my first one would be where do you get your oil changed? The dealership? Or can I take it to a regular oil change place? Please let me know your opinion!

Thanks!

Sarah

Old 10-31-2017, 07:13 AM
Fly'n Brick
6th Gear
Received 367 Likes on 311 Posts
No dealership and no 'oil change' chain store. Locate your friendly neighborhood MINI independent shop and make real good friends with them. The logic: Dealerships throw new parts at problems and hope that fixes it. Oil change chains are notorious for not crossing all the T's. A good reliable indie will analyze problems and fix the source and do everything they can to make you a happy customer.
If you need help finding one, let the world know where you are and someone will step in.

Old 10-31-2017, 07:26 AM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
I still take the out of warranty car to the dealer for oil changes as they are the best deal in town. I use an indy shop for other repairs as needed unless it coincides with oil change and priced reasonable. The dealer seems to be trying harder to keep the service business and did some extra work without charge (shocking) for labor.

Quick lube places are NO!

Old 10-31-2017, 07:31 AM
CzyKats44
1st Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
X3 with Fly'n and Minnie. Whatever you decide a Quick lube place is a big no.

Old 10-31-2017, 05:46 PM
sgogo
Neutral
Ok great! I really appreciate it, I didn't even know those existed and I found like 5 of them near me. Going to get some quotes and look up the reviews before I pick one.

Thank you!

Old 11-02-2017, 03:26 PM