R58 :: Coupé Talk (2012+) MINI Coupé (R58) discussion.

R58 I'm gonna do the Stage 1 Tune (finally).

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2017, 11:05 AM
TheBigNewt
OVERDRIVE
Received 103 Likes on 82 Posts
I'm gonna do the Stage 1 Tune (finally).

I've been contemplating it for a couple years and finally pulled the trigger for a ManicMini ECU tune for my 2014 JCW Coupe this Saturday in Tempe, AZ. Found a guy who's done them on G2 cars for quite awhile. $500 says it only takes about an hour, he updates the car's firmware first. I'll be pumped to see how this affects the car's performance, which is pretty good IMO. And I get 33 MPG on the highway. Stay "tuned".

Old 06-21-2017, 12:50 PM
ChuxBiz
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Watching closely! Just don't have anyone that I know/trust locally.

Old 06-21-2017, 01:03 PM
TheBigNewt
OVERDRIVE
Originally Posted by ChuxBiz
I'll try and remember to ask the dude if he knows of anyone in FL who does it. This guy actually works at a place that sells used cars and fixes foreign cars. I think he's mainly a mechanic there.

The following users liked this post:
ChuxBiz (06-21-2017)
Old 06-21-2017, 07:25 PM
GeneralSpecific
4th Gear
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
I actually shipped my ECU to MarioKart.

Hey, if you're getting a tune you should really consider getting an intercooler too. Especially since you're in Arizona - the stock intercooler is marginal at best and can't compare to the extra charge cooling from an aftermarket intercooler.

(sweet looking JCW, by the way. I'm envious!)

Old 06-21-2017, 08:13 PM
WayMotorWorks
Vendor
Received 757 Likes on 618 Posts
Originally Posted by TheBigNewt