R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 R56 exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2018, 07:47 AM
Smardav
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
R56 exhaust

Hi all, I am new to Mini. I just bought a R56 BRC Cooper S Hatch with 6-speed manual as my new daily. What a joy to drive for its price. I want to replace it’s exhaust as it doesn’t produce enough sound to me. I want some growl when revving, pop during engine brake, but NO drone on hwy cruising. Three exhaust that comes to mind are Borla, Milltek, or Quicksilver. Which one would you recommend for price vs quality? I am open to other brands as well.

Old 02-17-2018, 01:40 PM
oldbrokenwind
6th Gear
Received 201 Likes on 172 Posts
Exhaust sound is highly subjective and personal. I highly recommend you listen to someone else's Mini, that has a sound you like, and get a system like theirs.

Old 02-18-2018, 04:27 AM
holkki
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buy a new downpipe, add sound and power in the same package...My choice is akrapovic, not too loud ,but there are also other good options .The exhaust gases flows better, which also increases engine sensitivity to take revs easily.

Old 02-18-2018, 06:14 AM
thebombardier
5th Gear
Received 67 Likes on 58 Posts
I have the Invidia Q300. Great quality for the price (about $300 cheaper then the next system) but it does drone. I added a $100 resonator and that pretty much takes car of the issue.

Old 02-19-2018, 12:01 PM
ECSTuning
Platinum Sponsor
Received 1,965 Likes on 1,765 Posts
I would listen to them on youtube and see which one you like best, sound is subjective, one person likes loud decats and another person just wants to be louder then stock. Milltek, borla..ec cant go wrong. The Akrapovic sounds and fits great. The Valved systems by IPE and FI are awesome sounding but loud for some people.

MINI Guru/ MINI Owner Since 2004 | NEW Lifetime Part Replacement | Local Pickup