R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Looking to start preparing for the 2018 seasons. Would like some suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2017, 09:21 AM
Mario Pereira
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking to start preparing for the 2018 seasons. Would like some suggestions

Hey guys and girls, it's my first time posting. I had bought a 2013 MCS last August and it currently has 45k miles. So far I have done an intake, DP, and catless exhaust. I am preparing to go stage 2.

My question for you guys is what should I focus on first. I was either going to do FMIC, tune, and tires. Or do suspension, sway bars, rims and tires. The reasoning behind the suspension and rims upgrade together is more for the nice drop and more aggressive look with offset rims. The suspension I have now isn't in bad shape yet. But I don't want to put power down and my car lose performance through turns because it won't stick well. I'm also open for other opinions on which route I should choose for upgrades. As well as what I should add to my wishlist. I appreciate any feedback thanks in advance.

Old 10-18-2017, 11:27 AM
bugeye1031
Received 80 Likes on 75 Posts
Mario- How are you going to use the car? If it's a daily driver, follow your gut on how a particular mod would make the car more fun to drive. It sounds like you mods so far are aiming toward more power. If that's your inclination, consider a tune from someone with MINI experience and a good reputation...and since you're in a hot climate, perhaps a FMIC if you think you need it. If the suspension mods and wheels are to get an aggressive look, then go that way, but the bang for buck might not be as much....and there are many suspension mods that are ill-advised.

If you might autocross the car, then you should consider starting with some mild suspension tweaks....maybe a rear sway bar.