R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Rear break stock or performance kit?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 07:31 AM
gumbedamit
5th Gear
Received 96 Likes on 87 Posts
Originally Posted by renchjeep
Way definitely knows WAAAY more about MINI's than I ever will. I will not dispute his advice. I was simply relating my experiences with drilled/slotted rotors. I did also install all 4 corners Powerstop drilled/slotted with their ceramic pads on a neighbor lady's 2005 Tahoe. She was very pleased, and if she were displeased, I would hear about it, trust me. One correction to make.....I used drilled/slotted and ceramic pads in 4-wheel kit form from a company called Harts Brakes on my MINI. As I stated, no issues, and I have approx 20k miles on them now. I was simply trying to provide the OP with another option. I am not an engineer, nor did I intend to step on any toes. And, I will certainly let you all know if any cracking issues occur.

As an aside, I work on Police vehicles for a living. I have been seeing factory solid rear/non vented rotors cracking at an alarming rate on our Ford Police Interceptor AWD twin-turbo sedans. One of our Ford Interceptor AWD twin-turbo SUV K9 units was chewing up brakes quickly, along with glazing, squealing, and warping rotors on all 4 corners. I installed all 4 drilled/slotted and pads (I don't remember the brand), and no issues since then. I am using this unit as a test for future brake solutions on the rest of our PD fleet.

Once again, all personal experience, and your mileage may vary. Rant mode off. Motor On!
WAY stated there will be no difference in braking with the slotted/drilled rotors, said nothing about them being less safe or cracking...

Old 02-24-2017, 07:38 AM
gumbedamit
5th Gear
Received 96 Likes on 87 Posts
Originally Posted by thebombardier