R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Sport vs Normal Mode

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 10:37 AM
prees_mini
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sport vs Normal Mode

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. I have been referring to NAM posts for almost 2 years..it is one of the best places to derive information for minis.

I have a couple of questions wrt to my mini cooper 2007

What is the difference in the system configuration when you hit the Sport switch? I notice some differences but would like to know if there is a concise list of things that change..

Also, I noticed people talk about Torque Steer..could some one please shed some light on this one? is this something related to the electronic power steering?

Thanks

Old 03-14-2010, 12:14 PM
Mato
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Sport gives you a heavier steering (artificially), and better pedal response (no delay when depressing the accelerator)

The torque steer is just due to the amount of power is being delivered to the front wheels, which also does the steering as opposed to fixed rear wheels... maybe search on mr. Clarkson explaining torque steer.
I have a 2009 MCS with DTC and it does try to pull the front wheel to the right or left under hard acceleration in First... especially when you get to 4 and after... it comes as a surprise at first, but it is easily controlled... I have not tried it with the EDLC on (electronic Differential Lock Csomething)

Torque can also happens when you accelerate out of a turn.. but thats where the DTC/EDLC/LSD helps controlling the power by so you don't go wide.

well this is my understanding

Old 03-14-2010, 03:11 PM
countryboyshane
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by Mato
Sport gives you a heavier steering (artificially), and better pedal response (no delay when depressing the accelerator)