Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

r55 clubman s no start / no ground at fuel pump wiring helllp

Old 08-18-2017, 03:19 PM
b14nismo
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
r55 clubman s no start / no ground at fuel pump wiring helllp

ok so let me start with my apologies if this is posted in the wrong place . I'm new to this specific forum.
not new to mini though I have had multiple r53 minis that I loved dearly
I'm a audi / vw tech so complicated diagnostics are not far from my reach that's for sure .

ill try to make this as short as possible .
a buddy of mine has a 2010 mini cooper s clubman r55 I believe .
its had an issue with hard starts in the morning . would usually take 2 or 3 try's to get it to fire up .
he took it to our local barvarian mini dealer . they diagnosed it as a high pressure fuel pump . so they did the high pressure pump also did timing chain and couple other things while it was at there lot .
cold start issue still existed did not get better . he continued to drive it as it had no drivability issues and barbarian told him it was ok .

one morning he came out. car would not fire up . cranks and cranks and cranks . no fire .

so I have been messing with this car trying to figure it out . I love cars that are difficult to diagnose gives me a rush but this one is killing me lol

low pressure fuel pump wasn't kicking on .
I informed him I wanted to take it out and bench test it before we just threw a $ 400 low pressure pump at it .
bench tested the fuel pump . works great
put it back in . still no reaction from the pump .
tested all the wiring at the plug on the pump
only 1 wire was getting power
the rest didn't get anything at all . no ground no power no nothing