R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 2011 Clubman S feels like running on 2 cylinders.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Bigfig
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 Clubman S feels like running on 2 cylinders.

Hello, newbie here. Need some help.
57000 miles, new car to me. Saturday drove about 50 miles everything fine. Sunday run to local store and under moderate acceleration cel comes on, loss of power.

Get home, disconnect battery, code clears and test drive OK until hard acceleration. Code does not clear this time. Code reader had MIS fire cyl. 1,3. Swapped coils cel still on and now random misfires.

Changed plugs but old ones looked fine.

It starts fine and idles relatively fine but loss of power when adding throttle.

Any thoughts? Does the intake valve problem gradually cause power loss or can it be sudden?

I am going to change coils but I am pretty sure mine are fine.

No history with car so that doesn't help.

Old 05-01-2016, 09:29 PM
daddyandmadi
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You'll need to read codes to know. Auto parts store scan help or get an app on your phone

Old 05-02-2016, 01:08 AM
neonsteve
4th Gear
Sounds like the high pressure fuel pump going bad. Check out this thread on a 2010 with N14 engine. I listed some of the check engine codes I got when the HPFP started failing on my 2009 Clubman S. I imagine the codes and symptoms would be similar. I don't know if the 2011 has the same extended warranty on the HPFP.

Old 05-02-2016, 08:53 AM
Bigfig
1st Gear
Codes returned the 1st time were the p0301 and p0303. After swapping coils came back with random misfires. No other codes listed.

In neutral, it starts ok, idles, does not stall and if revved, it is rough till about 3000 rpm then acts like there is a rev limiter and further pedal does not raise rpm.

So something is killing spark or fuel.

Old 05-02-2016, 09:37 AM
neonsteve
4th Gear