R52 :: Cabrio Talk (2005-2008) Cooper and Cooper S convertible (R52) discussion.

R52 NOOB looking for advice on purchase

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2018, 07:22 AM
kellyk7
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NOOB looking for advice on purchase

I am looking at a 2007 Cooper S convertible later this week. , it is 6 speed manual , sidewalk edition. 140K miles and new clutch - claims to have maintenance records ( we will see) What should I be looking for . My background is I am a long time racer and mechanic, I do ALL my own work so I have a pretty good understanding .

I have some turbo experience with Toyota but no super charger experience Any Notes there ?

Thanks In advance - Kelly

Old 11-25-2018, 07:42 AM
Fastlane
4th Gear
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Typical things on R52/53 cars to look for or expect to replace....

suspension
- unless they’ve been changed at some point to powerflex, front lower control arm bushings were likely toast 50k miles ago. Check by kicking the front of each front wheel.....if there’s movement front to back (wiggle), they are bad.
- struts are long overdue unless they’ve been changed.
- check strut towers for “mushrooming” and check mounts for cracks and tears (very common).
- in general, you’ll just want to expect to do a suspension “refresh” unless the work has been done already.....struts, bushings, ball joints, etc. it’s not terrible expensive depending on options you go with, but can be lots of work. These cars drive so much better with fresh suspension parts!

engine
- if belt tensioner and idler pulley haven’t been changed, do so immediately.
- the crank pulley (harmonic balancer) on these cars is prone to failure....it basically separates into to pieces (inner/outer) and will leave you stranded and possibly overheat the car. If it’s the original oem, change immediately....suggest either ATI or PRW (fluid filled type).