R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 2006 Cooper DINAN S Engine Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2020, 06:52 PM
PhoenixMini
2nd Gear
Received 35 Likes on 29 Posts
2006 Cooper DINAN S Engine Trouble

Hello -

I thought it might be better to post this inquiry separately. I acquired a 2006 Cooper DINAN S a while back as a project. The PO told me he believed the engine's bottom end was done and it would be best to get a donor engine and swap the heads with the DINAN one and all the DINAN parts.

I have been doing a little research and asking around. Some are saying the issue is the tensioner in the engine? That the engine can still be fixed? I am new to Mini's so I have no prior experience with this kind of issue.

I am posting a clip of how the engine sounds. Any ideas? Thoughts? Or Input?

Thanks a bunch!

Old 08-06-2020, 12:27 AM
Tragesaurusrex
3rd Gear
Received 135 Likes on 67 Posts
  1. The belt tensioner should be an easy thing to diagnose just by looking at it. Is it vibrating more than about 1/8” or, at worst, flopping up and down? There’s a small strut assy that dampens the belt vibration normally. They are known to fail, and there are many threads on the matter. Otherwise..
  2. Pull the plugs - inspect for oil, broken, fouling, etc
  3. Drain the oil - Does enough come out? Metallic sheen? Is it chocolate milk? run a magnet through it to sift for metal if nothing is visible.
  4. Pull the oil pan - any shiny presents waiting for you? You can also get a good look at the crank, rods, and piston undersides from there, plus some cyl walls depending on the crankshaft position.
  5. Remove valve cover - burnt oil residue? Any play in the valve train components?
  6. Pick up a borescope to peek into the cyl topside through spark plug sockets