R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Just curious if there's a potential market for this?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2019, 02:26 PM
bansasn
2nd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Just curious if there's a potential market for this?

Hi all,
I have designed and made a prototype of a mouse pad mount for a Mini. It's an accessory toward the cup holder. Please images for clarity. I have been testing it for two months and works wonderfully. My phone is an android so I can connect my mouse. Basically, a handsfree from my phone when I need to select apps and other things. The mouse will not slide off when turning your vehicle on a normal turning force. Unless your at an AutoX. This works great since my hands most of the time are on the stick shift. Very discrete way to mess with your phone when stuck in traffic. Let me know what your thoughts are. Thanks in advance.

Old 05-10-2019, 07:09 PM
Tgriffithjr
5th Gear
Received 80 Likes on 76 Posts
Seems like it would take concentration to use.

Old 05-11-2019, 12:36 PM
bansasn
2nd Gear

Originally Posted by Tgriffithjr
Seems like it would take concentration to use.
At first, I thought that until I tried the prototype. Do to my "Ultrathin mouse touch" the function is similar to the Lexus infotainment mouse pad controller. The ease of the mouse use feels a lot safer than reaching over to tap and scroll the phone. I don't encourage this but we all do it in the car discreetly. Here in California, if the police see you touching your phone you get pull over. A good example is my friend, who was checking her emails while stopped at the red light.

Old 05-12-2019, 12:47 AM
rkw
OVERDRIVE
Received 120 Likes on 105 Posts
It would be the perfect accessory for a steering wheel computer tray:

A real product:
Amazon Amazon
(don't miss the answered questions)

Last edited by rkw; 05-13-2019 at 08:19 AM.
The following users liked this post:
MoBoost (05-12-2019)