North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/r50-r53-hatch-talk-2002-2006-8/)
-   -   R50/53 Lady needs advice 06 Cooper S (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/r50-r53-hatch-talk-2002-2006/332380-lady-needs-advice-06-cooper-s.html)

Ms.Mini2006 10-11-2018 12:08 AM

Lady needs advice 06 Cooper S

Hello Everyone!

First off, I want to say how thankful I am for this site and for everyone who has provided their expertise in Mini's, its so helpful!

Ok, so I bought my first Mini, a used 06 Mini Cooper S.... I am a college student and this seemed like a perfect car for me to commute in and I just LOVE it! First problem is that my paddle shifters on the steering when do not work and it also seems that when I put it into sport mode and try to shift nothing happens. Also when I drive it, It accelerates and I can go up to 70 mph, however, as I accelerate my RPMS accelerate to around 6 thousand and stay there they NEVER go down unless I let off the gas pedal, no matter what speed I am going. In all the previous cars I have driven or owned, usually, the RPMs will go down to around 2-3 when I am driving a steady speed, not continuously rise as my speed increases. For example If i go 50 MPH my RPMs will stay around 4 thousand, if I go 60 MPH my RPMs will stay around 5 thousand and will continue to rise as I accelerate.

I have been to scared to let the RPMS go to the red line so i have never driven it faster than 65 PMH continuously at 6 RPMS

I have only driven it a few times because I dont want to hurt it.

I have taken it the shop twice already and the first time they told me it was a problem with the instrument cluster, so I bought a used one and they programmed it for me and told me my car was good to go. A total of $1000