Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs.

2006 Mini Cooper S automatic/manual shifter not shifting

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2017, 05:05 PM
Laurenh
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 Mini Cooper S automatic/manual shifter not shifting

My paddle shifters work just fine but it won't shift using the shifter. I'm new to mini coopers. Any ideas on what could be wrong? I do NOT have a cvt.

Old 03-28-2017, 06:31 PM
RB-MINI
6th Gear
Received 489 Likes on 408 Posts
Any error messages on the speedo like "EP" in the display? Also, are the paddle shifters working correctly in both D and SD modes? In D the shifts are temporary, and in SD they should hold the gear until you shift again, unless you are slowing down or nearing redline.

Also, how many miles on the car?

Old 03-28-2017, 07:05 PM
Laurenh
Neutral
Originally Posted by RB-MINI
Any error messages on the speedo like "EP" in the display? Also, are the paddle shifters working correctly in both D and SD modes? In D the shifts are temporary, and in SD they should hold the gear until you shift again, unless you are slowing down or nearing redline.

no error messages. The paddle shifters work correctly in both regular and SD. There is around 130,500 miles on the car. It just won't shift when I use the shifter ****.

Old 03-30-2017, 09:20 AM
Aspen
4th Gear
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Likely a broken wire in the shifter harness.

Old 03-30-2017, 09:46 AM
RB-MINI
6th Gear
Yes, probably a broken wire or a problem with the shifter itself. Since you are new to MINI's, was this an existing problem when you bought the car, or was it working for a while and then stopped? Maybe the previous spilled something on the shifter and shorted something out.

Old 03-31-2017, 08:40 AM
Laurenh
Neutral