Mid-Atlantic Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania

Love my Mini, need major repairs

Old 08-04-2018, 08:39 AM
aygarrou
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Love my Mini, need major repairs

I have a 2008 Clubman (not an S). At 75K miles, it needed a new catalytic converter. It also needs another $2300 in repairs (electrical, brakes . . .). I've still been driving it; now it has 77,300 miles.
SEE ATTACHED LIST OF REPAIR ESTIMATES.
I can't afford the $4,500 or more in repairs, but also can't buy a new car. Despite everything, I love my Mini and would like to keep it.
I live in central VA. I'm an expert college counselor and I'd be willing to negotiate free college guidance in exchange for car repair.
Or, at least, could someone tell me if the prices for these repairs are reasonable? The cat repair isn't on here, but it's been estimated at approx. $2,000-$2,300.
Thank you.

Attached Files
Old 08-05-2018, 06:51 AM
ShipM8
4th Gear
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Sounds like some good schooling advice would be to become a mini mechanic! I can't help you, but hope you find a creative solution to getting your mini in tip-top shape.

The following users liked this post:
aygarrou (08-05-2018)
Old 08-06-2018, 07:22 AM
Tom516
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by aygarrou
I have a 2008 Clubman (not an S). At 75K miles, it needed a new catalytic converter. It also needs another $2300 in repairs (electrical, brakes . . .). I've still been driving it; now it has 77,300 miles.
SEE ATTACHED LIST OF REPAIR ESTIMATES.
I can't afford the $4,500 or more in repairs, but also can't buy a new car. Despite everything, I love my Mini and would like to keep it.
I live in central VA. I'm an expert college counselor and I'd be willing to negotiate free college guidance in exchange for car repair.