JCW JCW KO4 GT dominator upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2018, 01:15 PM
havy
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
JCW KO4 GT dominator upgrade

So I bought a 2014 used (new to me) CM JCW edition. I quickly started some changes, added aFe intake, and did the 3 inch downpipe cat delete, and manic tune stage 2. Loving it.

So while taking to the mechanic, I decided that I'm gonna add some intake hoses, change the cooling hoses, upgrade the intercooler, and add a KO4 gt dominator turbo with Manic stage 3. Now the mechanic runs his JCW with this turbo and did not forge the internals without probs. This guy races his mini and knows a little something about these cars. I'm already committed to this, but wanted to hear experiences if you have any on this particular mod without doing internals. I heard the compression ratio is slightly decreased and for this reason tolerates the higher boost pressures. I have no experience in this aspect, love to learn, but I just want to prepare myself for what I'm getting into, possible failures, I know the clutch will be the first thing to go, at 38000 miles, with this mod, it could go at any time I know (hopefully not yet, got to save some $$$ for this and other future repairs/or mods)

thanks

Old 04-24-2018, 02:27 PM
MarioKart
Vendor
Received 115 Likes on 93 Posts
I run a larger turbo on my JCW stock block for the last 30K with zero hiccups. I was on Manic Stage 3 but now I changed over to RPM Power stage 3. Let me know if I can help with tuning or picking out the correct turbo for a AWD Countryman

mQubed Motorsport Manic & RPM Power Tuning

Old 04-24-2018, 02:44 PM
havy
1st Gear
Thanks, just wanted to make sure I in the right direction. For now I have everything set, just waiting to hear from the mechanic that everything has arrive to mount up. From I've read, your input ways heavily and is greatly appreciated. I the future gonna be looking of clutch for sure, any help from prior experiences also welcome.