JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 1st Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Counterfeit JCW's?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2018, 09:37 AM
Rich B.
4th Gear
Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts
Counterfeit JCW's?

I know this subject has been discussed in various threads prior to my post, but if ya'll be so kind, please enlighten me with some clarification on this confusing (for me) JCW topic.

Although I'm not new to Minis, I am new at searching for a JCW Mini for myself. Here is my problem: the more I look at different JCW cars, the more I am perplexed as to what a "real" JCW Mini is supposed to be.

Most recently I have researched 3 Minis I've had interest in whereby each owner claimed their car to be a JCW model. However, when I used the VIN decoder on this website to investigate, all 3 of those cars came back as "S" models...with no mention of JCW in their VIN data. Is this a phenomenon or are not all JCW factory cars designated as such in their VIN numbers? Heck, two of the three cars even had the John Cooper Works badges and the red JCW brake calipers!

I've read on these forums that some dealerships installed JCW aero kits on new Mini's before selling them, but what about engine, suspension and other JCW performance mods? Did dealerships install these parts on new Mini's before selling them too? If so, how can these installations be proofed and can these cars be considered JCW models like factory cars are?

To take it one step further, if an owner of a Mini has some form of JCW equipment installed, but their VIN does not verify this, will their car have the same value as if the factory installed the JCW component(s)?