JCW Garage Interested in John Cooper Works (JCW) parts for your 1st Generation MINI? This is where JCW upgrades and accessories for the Cooper (R50), Cabrio (R52), and Cooper S (R53) MINIs are discussed.

Anyone replaced the Red Springs with Swift Spec R's?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2020, 05:01 AM
NC TRACKRAT
6th Gear
Received 200 Likes on 147 Posts
Anyone replaced the Red Springs with Swift Spec R's?

I asked this question in the GP1 section without replies. Perhaps it will do better here: Just wondering if anyone has swapped the progressive rate red springs for linear Swifts Spec R's. Did you leave the original struts and shocks? If so, how did they work out? Any other combinations with the Swifts? KONI Yellows? Bilstein Sports? TIA!

Old 09-24-2020, 05:54 AM
njaremka
Alliance Member
Received 1,711 Likes on 1,380 Posts
I have no experience with your question, but I would do Bilstein B8s with the Swift SpecR springs. Swift likes to use very stiff rates on their SpecR springs, which will be too much for the stock struts.

I've had bad experiences with Koni shocks, so I will hesitate to recommend them. The Koni yellows will also handle the SpecR spring rates, and being adjustable, you can dial them in to your liking. However, the rears need to be removed to adjust, which is a poor design.

Old 09-25-2020, 06:56 AM
NC TRACKRAT
6th Gear
Thanks for your input. I have good experience with the KONI Sports and Swift Spec R's on my previous R53. I figured out a way to adjust the rears while on the car by drilling a hole just above the shock...but it does require removing the rear side panels.

Old 09-25-2020, 07:51 AM
MrBlah
6th Gear - AX Champion
Received 264 Likes on 210 Posts