North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   How to (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/how-to-340/)
-   -   How To R53 Drivetrain :: Oil Catch Can How-To (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/how-to/75360-r53-drivetrain-oil-catch-can-how-to.html)

polizei 08-02-2006 06:39 PM

R53 Drivetrain :: Oil Catch Can How-To

11 Attachment(s)
Hello. I decided to install my OCC today after reading many many threads over and over again about doing so. Please keep in mind, I've never done this before, and I was in a hurry.

Tools Required:

30Torx bit
Screwdriver
File
Drill
Knife or other device to cut with

Parts Required:

3-4ft of Automotive Tubing (3/8" in diameter)
4 Clamps to fit over the tubing
Of course, the OCC itself!

Here is a pic before anything was done.

Attachment 164634

Step 1.

***NOTE: This step is ONLY if you are mounting the OCC in the passenger cowl vent***

First step, you will need to drill two holes a little bit bigger than the diameter of the tubing in the passanger cowl vent. The larger holes allow a little bit of movement for the tubing, just incase they need to move.

After you drill the holes, if your drill bit was too small like mine was, you are going to have to file out the rest of the holes. Just file the holes until the tubing fits with some extra room. It will look like this:

Attachment 164635

Step 2.

Now that you have the holes drilled, you will move onto the fun part, taking everything apart! :razz:

First, you will need to remove the IC cover. This is very simple. Remove the 4 Torx screws on the corner's of the IC cover. Once you have the IC cover off, you will be able to see the IC itself.

Attachment 164636

Step 3.

Now you will have to take off the IC itself. To do this, unscrew the 4 bolts on each boot.

Note* Do not remove the bolts completely. I did this and put the IC boot on backwards, which was not good and through me into limp mode!*