North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   How to (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/how-to-339/)
-   -   How To R56 Serpentine Belt replacement (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/how-to/195227-r56-serpentine-belt-replacement.html)

palemud 08-23-2010 08:37 AM

R56 Serpentine Belt replacement

Hello All. I am new to the NAM forums, but over the past few weeks of lurking on these boards, I have learned a great deal of quality information.

Last month, I bought a ’08 MCS with 58k miles on it. Crazy, I know, but I got it for a song and the car is in great shape (and I have always wanted a MCS!) After research here at NAM, I knew the Inspection II was due and I wanted to do most, if not all, the work myself. Thus far, I have been able to change the oil and filter, replace the fuel filter (which I will have to make a new post about), put in new spark plugs, change the manual transmission fluid, complete a SeaFoam treatment, and install the BSH oil catch. According to what I have read, the serpentine belt is replaced as well during the Inspection II service. This past weekend, I took off the front-passenger wheel, pulled out the wheel-well cover and was all set to replace the belt, but…

I had printed Gerldoc’s great serpentine replacement How to guide, but I soon discovered the belt tensioner for the 1st gen mini’s are vastly different from the 2nd gen mini’s. Sooo… after searching the ‘nets and the forums here, I haven’t found a lot of information about anyone who has replaced their own belt and, what, if any, tools they used to lift the tensioner to slide the old belt off.

Thus my question: has anyone had experience with this that could offer some guidance?

The end nut on the tensioner, at what I assume is the fulcrum point, sort of looks like the ratchet in this tool (http://www.amazon.com/Lisle-59000-Ra.../dp/B0019CQL2E).

Thanks.

iwashmycar 10-10-2010 11:47 AM

figure it out?