GP coilover suspension install

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2013, 05:06 PM
kfmuller
4th Gear
Received 46 Likes on 27 Posts
GP coilover suspension install

I bought the 2013 GP suspension from one of the members. It arrives tomorrow. I have a 2009 factory JCW with the factory Sport suspension.

I got a quote from my dealer, who does extremely good work - of about $675 for the install, and another $159 for the alignment. I had a bad alignment 6 years ago with my last MINI, so I normally lean towards letting the dealer handle that type of work.

Does anyone know how difficult install this type of thing is for a complete novice? Our local MINI club does DIY days four times a year at the dealer where I would have access to a lift, tools, and technician expertise, but I don't want to be a lift hog and take up time that others could use for there minor jobs.

I'm not in a rush, so I can hold out until our next DIY day if this is something that can be tackled. We just had the last DIY day this previous Saturday.

Thanks,

Old 04-25-2013, 06:38 PM
yaphetlives
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Are you sure they will fit a standard R56? I ask as the GP" strutbrace doesn't fit earlier models than 11/2012 as the holes on the brace don't align up with the strut towers top mount bolt locations.
Whether they still use the same top mounts is what concerns me, or whether they changed the positioning of the top mount bolt holes on the GP2 is the question?? - I guess you could take your top mounts off the stock suspension if you have issues?

Old 04-25-2013, 06:48 PM
kfmuller
4th Gear
Originally Posted by yaphetlives
Are you sure they will fit a standard R56? I ask as the GP" strutbrace doesn't fit earlier models than 11/2012 as the holes on the brace don't align up with the strut towers top mount bolt locations.