General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy my first mini. Need help

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2018, 08:39 AM
TRAVR6
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Looking to buy my first mini. Need help

I am in the market for my first mini cooper. Looking for a decent car good on gas to drive instead of my F150 every day.

What are some of the key failures or issues with these that I need to be aware of?
I am looking for a used mini below 2010.
I have been reading that the first gens are more reliable than the 2nd gen? Any truth to that? Should I only look at 2002-2006?

I am a decent mechanic so I have no problem buying a mechanics special. I just don't want to to get into engine swaps or transmission fixes.
Is the manual or automatic more reliable in these?

Is one engine better than another?
Nearly every one I found had some sort of missfire. Is this common? Is it an usually an easy fix or is a symptom of major failure?

Any bullet points you can give will be greatly appreciated.
I read this thread but it doesn't talk about issues or things to look out for.
https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...gen1-mini.html

My main must haves.
Stick shift
S model

Beyond that I am not real concerned

Old 03-27-2018, 09:28 AM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
Welcome to NAM, hopefully you find a good MINI. Have you checked out the below thread on Buying a Gen1 MINI? The early Gen2's had the N14 that some have had good luck with while others curse the day they saw the car. The Gen1's have the cast iron block Tritec that has some say is "bulletproof'. The R50 Justa is good little car as long as you stay away from the automatic. The supercharged R53 and R52S will not get the mileage of the R50 but do have a better 6-speed stick (the R50 has a 5-speed).