North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   General MINI Talk (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/general-mini-talk-197/)
-   -   Need to drive my MINI through a wall of cardboard boxes (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/general-mini-talk/164492-need-to-drive-my-mini-through-a-wall-of-cardboard-boxes.html)

ionray 03-02-2009 01:24 PM

Need to drive my MINI through a wall of cardboard boxes

Hey Everyone,
I'm working on a fun little video/film project - part of which involves driving my '09 DS/B MCS through a wall of cardboard boxes. I'm a little worried about damage to the paint/front of the car - anyone have any experience/idea of what to expect. Anyone have any idea if there's an ideal speed to hit the "wall" at?

Don't worry - I've already secured a closed course - working on movie and commercial sets is what I do for a living so we'll be very VERY safe.

Once the project is done I'll post the video on NAM for everyone to enjoy.

OkieSnake 03-02-2009 07:44 PM

If you could use styrofoam blocks they may be more forgiving. If they need to look like boxes, you could always paint them as such.
I would give the car a good coat of wax first. You could always do a trial run on with rental and pay for the extra insurance.:lol:
I loook forward to seeing the video. Good luck!

miminut 03-03-2009 06:30 AM

Clear bra

You could try a clear bra on the front end. If the clear bra doesn't extend to the bumper try using clear packing tape to cover this area. Don't use boxes with staples in them. Cover all the corners of the boxes with clear packing tape to keep the cardboard from scratching the paint.

Deviant 03-03-2009 06:49 AM

This is probably the first time anyone's asked this question online, ever.
I have nothing of substance to contribute to this thread beyond what's already been mention.

MrCooperS 03-03-2009 07:21 AM