F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (F55/F56) hatchback discussions.

F55/F56 Newbie here...how to change UJ light on F55 and coding??

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2019, 08:56 AM
mini_marcmarc
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here...how to change UJ light on F55 and coding??

Hello everyone,
I am new and I would like to thank in advance for helping.
I have a 2016 Mini Cooper S 4 Doors. I don't know anything at all but I love the look of the UJ Led Tail light and I want to go ahead to do it myself. I think I have a normal (?) tail light that is not led. I heard that I need to code and do some conversion if I need to change my tail light. So here comes the questions...

First, what version of UJ tail light do I need to get (US or UK)? And what are the differences? (where do I get that light?) I found that Mini Seattle has them but not sure if that fit...
Second, how to I connect/install the lights if the original lights are not led. Do I need conversion kit or something?
Third, what is coding. How do I do that? What do I need to do so?

I looked up online for quite a few days and I found very confusing answers for my questions. So I really appreciate your help.
And I live in New York.

Old 07-10-2019, 04:26 PM
pillpusher84
2nd Gear
Received 49 Likes on 23 Posts
Originally Posted by mini_marcmarc
Hello everyone,
I am new and I would like to thank in advance for helping.
I have a 2016 Mini Cooper S 4 Doors. I don't know anything at all but I love the look of the UJ Led Tail light and I want to go ahead to do it myself. I think I have a normal (?) tail light that is not led. I heard that I need to code and do some conversion if I need to change my tail light. So here comes the questions...

First, what version of UJ tail light do I need to get (US or UK)? And what are the differences? (where do I get that light?) I found that Mini Seattle has them but not sure if that fit...