F55/F56 :: Hatch Talk (2014+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (F55/F56) hatchback discussions.

F55/F56 A/C on always?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2019, 05:40 PM
dalecooper
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A/C on always?

When I first got my 2017 Cooper S (in January of 2017), the A/C was on and the dealer told me to leave it on all the time to dehumidify the air. I've been doing this now for 2 years, and I've started wondering if this is indeed useful or adversely affects mileage or performance. Thoughts?

My gas mileage is pretty good, and the car is always nice and dry and odor-free...

Old 03-21-2019, 06:28 PM
Mini_Vinnie
Received 265 Likes on 209 Posts
Im sure it does but more so will get you back in faster to get AC service.

Basically, he is right, it is taking the moisture out of the air but I just leave mine off and turn it on when I need

Old 03-21-2019, 06:46 PM
Anakist
3rd Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
More use does equal more wear. But conversely more use means more time with oiled refrigerant moving through the system keeping seals in good condition.

Down here we are nearly always above comfortable temperatures and have high relative humidity so mine stays on nearly all the time. I just got a new car with climate control so now I don't have to worry about it.

James

Old 03-21-2019, 06:48 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
First car I've left the a/c on all the time because of the stinky odor problem that many people were having. So far no odors so I am leaving it on. In the old days you turned the a/c on and you felt it take hp out of the car, doesn't seem to do this anymore with modern vehicles.

Old 03-22-2019, 08:06 AM
dalecooper
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I thought so. Will continue to keep it on as it's worked well for me so far.

Old 03-22-2019, 03:17 PM
RockC
5th Gear
Received 211 Likes on 177 Posts
Originally Posted by dalecooper