Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Last round of mods - Mynes bytetronik tune

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2017, 02:45 PM
Hingis
2nd Gear
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Last round of mods - Mynes bytetronik tune

Hi all, I have a 2005 R52, and been slowly upgrading things over time. Unfortunately I am at altitude at 5000ft plus elevation, so my numbers will always be quite a bit lower. Just returned from making a few purchases at bytetronik and completed installing them, it involved new ATI 2% super damper, Mynes V2 header, 550cc injectors and the FA53 tuning software with the custom remote tune, as I am still learning the tuning story. Intersting enough before installing this gear I was at 189WHP and when doing some data logs now to send off for the remote tune I felt the car was definitely down on power. You would think adding headers and a 2 % crank pulley in the mix would liven it up more, albeit without a tune. Just waiting for bytetronik to send my new tune over and see how she does from there. Once I have the new tune, then will be installing the 550cc injectors and then of course further tuning to get that dialed in. Super keen to see what the final numbers will be. On a side note, my analog boost pressure gauge which is currently reading boost post intercooler in the horn is at about 16 psi where as my data logs through the obd port using the FA53 software is only registering 13psi. Is this normal or is there some leak happening from the horn to the map sensor? BTW my butt dyno was semi-confirmed with the lower power now than before these mods as right now running the virtual dyno software I am at 167WHP.

Old 08-17-2017, 05:19 PM
Whine not Walnuts
OVERDRIVE
Received 625 Likes on 554 Posts
Keep us advised on how you end up and whether it was all worth it.

Going to move you to the Mod area as there is some good stuff here.