Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Intercooler Cooling Tests

Old 08-15-2008, 01:47 PM
Intense
252whp 200trq RMW style
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Intercooler Cooling Tests

Ok,

I was finally able to get all the information we gathered into graphs and in a post-able format. I'm on my lunch at work so sorry if this is a bit rushed but I felt like I should at least get the info out to you after so long.

Please people keep in mind that were just a couple guys that are passionate about our Mini's and how they operate. I have no formal experience with intercooler testing or parts testing of any nature. We did this for fun and to get a some basic cooling information from the IC's we tested.

That being said lets get started!

We tested the following Intercoolers:
M7 DFIC V2
AltaV2 Flow Through
Forge
GRS
Stock

How we tested them:
-10 Channel Data Logger recording Ambient, Inlet, Outlet of IC
-ScanGuage II

-RPM's revved to 6800 under full throttle
-We did a full boost run onto a freeway gears 1-4
-The rest of the runs (ranging from 2-3 runs depending on conditions and traffic) were on the freeway between gears 3-4 at wide open throttle.
-We did one final run for each intercooler on a freeway ramp 1-4 gears after the intercoolers and intake manifold were heat soaked. (We soaked each for 8 min)
-Outside is Ambient
-Inlet is air from super charger into intercooler
-Outlet is air leaving intercooler going to the intake manifold

Here is the testbed and intercoolers
Name:  IMG_2608.jpg
Views: 6337
Size:  60.8 KB
Name:  IMG_2598.jpg
Views: 9174
Size:  66.8 KB

M7 DFIC V2 (For some reason our software glitched during the last run as you can see. The colors of the graph switched on us but the data is still accurate)
Name:  M7DFICV2Graph.png
Views: 5304
Size:  63.6 KB
Name:  M7DFICV2IntakeManifoldTempBoost.png
Views: 5205
Size:  46.0 KB