D Stock Hoosier vs Kumho

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2005, 08:15 PM
MattMan
Coordinator :: Minis Under the Arches (Oct 25-28)
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hoosier vs Kumho

Hello everyone,
I'm a rookie in GS this year and need tire advice. I've been through a couple of schools and my street tires are just about shot, so I'm debating on what tires are the best bet. TireRack seems to be getting rid of the Hoosier S04 at $119 a pop. While the ever-popular Kumho 710 seems to be the hot tire, but runs around $150+. What do you guys think. In our region we run at the Wendover airport with some of the roughest concrete you'll ever see. So I'm not sure how long I should expect either tire to last, so I'm really looking into life. Any experience between the two? I know this post, https://www.northamericanmotoring.co...ad.php?t=45979 shows the debate, but no in stone conclusions for the year. Anyway, any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Matt

Old 08-09-2005, 06:41 AM
BGarfield
4th Gear
I'm on 80+ Pro Solo runs with a set of V710's (still haven't been flipped), don't expect more than 30 of the same runs...AFTER flipping them.

It's very clear to me that Kumho is doing something right for longevity on camber challenged cars and we're back to a tire that hardens from heat-cycles well before it cords. However, they still need to be kept very cool for best performance (under 100 degrees).
Maybe, just maybe, the Hoosier might handle heat slightly better, but the ultimate grip and number of runs is definitely superior in the V710.

Now, if you could only get a hold of a set of 215/40R16's...

Brian

Old 08-09-2005, 06:42 AM
Motoring
5th Gear
Kumho's period... You will cord the Hoosiers at Wendover in two events.

The other option is the r3s04 hoosier that is supposed to wear a little better, but $$$

I don't know anything about Toyo fitments, but that would be another option for a long lasting tire.

Old 08-09-2005, 06:53 AM
BGarfield
4th Gear