D Stock R56 JCW tuning kit - D Street?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018, 07:38 AM
brunocav
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
R56 JCW tuning kit - D Street?

Hi all,

This is my first time posting and, I have been reading for a while and amazed by how knowledgeable you guys are. My apologies if this was already answered but I could not see anywhere.

I am driving a 2007 MCS that I use for track day/HPDE duty and decided to start AutoX to reduce costs and have some competition . My car is in almost completely stock form after ditching the big-brakes, CAI and ECU tune to get back to D Street. But, of course, I want to get it modified to the max that is allowed by Solo rules. So, my building list consists of:

1) A set of Koni yellows (already installed, as they were part of my HPDE build)
2) A set of 225/45R17 Direzza III (also installed in OEM wheels as I use this tires for HPDE)
3) A 22mm rear sway bar
4) A JCW tuning kit (Part # 11120429564)

The last item is the only one I am scratching my head about. I read the Solo rulebook and, at least to me, it is not clear if this option would bump me up or not. I understand that it was offered as an option for the MCS 2007 and, as such, it should qualify for street class. But, I do not want to spend $1700 and become STX or whatever class it puts me. I could gather some internet information (e.g. blog posts, press releases and the OEM install guide) and also do not know if this is enough to prove that the equipment is OEM option. Do you have any thoughts on this?

Thanks

Last edited by brunocav; 04-17-2018 at 10:52 AM.
Old 04-19-2018, 06:22 PM
Burglar
3rd Gear
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Since the kit was a port installed option, it's legal. Just want to make sure it was available in '07.

Fwiw, if you have the original, non-dealer reflashed tune in your '07, it makes more power than the JCW kit. If you have a boost gauge or obd scanner, log your boost. If you peak out at ~15psi, save your money.