North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   SCCA Solo and ProSolo (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/scca-solo-and-prosolo-199/)
-   -   D Stock JCW Coupe any good in DS? (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/scca-solo-and-prosolo/278743-jcw-coupe-any-good-in-ds.html)

fjork_duf 10-23-2014 11:32 PM

JCW Coupe any good in DS?

I used to autox fairly regularly in my old '07 with sport suspension and factory LSD. It was a ton of fun and felt relatively fast compared to the field in 2008 even though I am no expert driver.

I have a '15 JCW coupe that is set to arrive soon-ish. I was wondering if that car is competitive at all in DS? To my surprise I noticed the solo rules now allow port installed options for DS so I was also thinking of buying the JCW suspension.

Any JCW Coupe-ers autoxing with successes? I would like to hear them!

v10climber 10-24-2014 05:28 AM

No it won't be competitive. But that's just IMHO. Even with the dominant TT just getting moved to BS this month the new WRX is still going to be a strong contender in DS. You might do pretty well locally but at a national level I think it'll be an uphill battle.

And yes the JCW suspension is legal and worth it from an auto-x perspective.

fjork_duf 10-24-2014 07:39 AM

Originally Posted by v10climber (Post 4004925)
No it won't be competitive. But that's just IMHO. Even with the dominant TT just getting moved to BS this month the new WRX is still going to be a strong contender in DS. You might do pretty well locally but at a national level I think it'll be an uphill battle. And yes the JCW suspension is legal and worth it from an auto-x perspective.

Yeah the new wrx I would expect to dominate. Makes sense. No national level for me, just some good head to head with local people. But we shall see. I have seen some really poor wrx driving around here.

Mini2na 10-24-2014 07:44 AM