North American Motoring

North American Motoring (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/)
-   Classic Mini Talk (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/classic-mini-talk-48/)
-   -   Help w/buying Classic Mini (https://www.northamericanmotoring.com/forums/classic-mini-talk/254136-help-w-buying-classic-mini.html)

49th.runner 07-09-2013 06:57 PM

Help w/buying Classic Mini

Real quick. I'm new to the Mini world but would like to buy the classic looking Mini. I found one titled in my state of WA. The title shows that the car is a 1980's, but the vin shows that it was built in 1990+. I have been told this is normal, but what is the deal? Is this leagal for me to own? Also the vin plate is in the trunk and says "Rover Group Limited" the vin is: SAXXNVAXKBD141654. Help!

Capt_bj 07-10-2013 05:18 AM

It means it is a re-VIN - the VIN was changed to import an illegal car

The Mini was not legal for sale in the US after the mid 60's. However virtually ANY car can be imported after it turns 25 years old, as a collector car. In the UK and other places it is fairly easy to go to a junk yard and pop the VIN off an older wreck and pop-rivet it onto a newer MINI. 99 times out of 100 Customs does not detect this and the car gets in (they'd much prefer to find an illegal Ferrari). The car is illegal but once IN the country the odds of the fed's taking it away are small. If the car has a valid state title and registration there is seldom a problem along these lines.

There are other issues - newer MINIs often have fuel injection and IMO you are unwise to buy one of these in the US. MANY threads here on that topic . . .

just keep reading
just keep reading . . .

BJDavis 07-11-2013 07:48 AM

VIN Decoded

Originally Posted by 49th.runner (Post 3771592)