Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

Is this Classic Mini worth it?

Old 09-11-2007, 11:04 PM
daaveecrocket
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this Classic Mini worth it?

I'm relatively new to the world of motoring. My buddy owns a 02' Cooper S and we've been looking for one for me. I found this classic Mini.....I really value people's opinion in this MINI/Mini community. I'll lay out what the owner has given me. Any input would be great!

1992 Mini Cooper Rover
Fuel-Injected 1275 cc
62,000 miles
Stage II Tuning kit
Asking $11,500

Here's some pics. It looks really clean.....but that price seems steep.

Old 09-12-2007, 06:41 AM
Tall Mini
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Understand that the car you are looking at has nothing in common with your buddies 02 MCS other than the name. I'm not making any statement on better or worse but it is a very different animal.
Very hard to say what true value is without seeing the car (and even then not all that easy.) Classic Minis have notoriously bad rust issues (some say even more so in the later Rover cars.) That would be the biggest concern right off the bat. Also it would be worth questioning how the car is titled as you cannot legally title a 92 Mini as a 92, it has to be at least 25 yrs old. All that said, it may not be a bad price. A well sorted Mini of any vintage can easily go for that much (I am thinking of selling my 80 Mini Cabrio and I will not take a dime less than $13k for it.. for example.) Especially given the cars rust issues (as well as the current exchange rate) quality examples are getting harder to find. You can pay less (as a few here have) and get a good deal as well or you can pay quite a bit more... its what makes setting a true "value" very difficult.
Good luck with your search!

Old 09-12-2007, 07:20 AM
ImagoX
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts