1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie here, need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2018, 10:18 AM
coach74
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Newbie here, need advice.

Hello all. I'm not a MINI owner yet. I have my eye on 2 right now. I just moved to California from Missouri and sold my Honda Element and 1991 BMW 5 series. I debated for a month on what type of car to get. I was stuck on a Toyota Tacoma truck because well, everyone here drives them. Then I looked at the Toyota FJ Cruiser because its odd and can tackle anything thrown at it. But, after really thinking about the COST of owning those and cost of living in my new state I decided small and economical for a few years. Gas here is over $3.60 and I plan on exploring up and down the coast. I do want to visit Tahoe in the winter to learn how to ski and the desert to explore but I figure I can ride with someone with a 4x4. So I have considered the MINI. What worries me is the issues I've read about with a Mini. Everyone I've talked to have to told me to avoid them like a plague because of the cost of repairs. Still the brand intrigues me. Any advice from longtime owners. Here are the two I'm eyeing:

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/sby/ctd...668668941.html

https://sfbay.craigslist.org/scz/ctd...651101262.html

Old 08-15-2018, 10:48 AM
MrGrumpy
6th Gear
Received 241 Likes on 207 Posts