MINI Cooper MINI Cooper specs
 

Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Notices

Welcome to North American Motoring !
Welcome to North American Motoring,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!



9467mini-cooper-sway-bar-rear.jpg
>

Reviews Views Date of last review
10 56587 12/9/2008
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $181.25 9.7
9467mini-cooper-sway-bar-rear.jpg
supersize


Description: To quote prominent MINI tuner Randy Webb: "A rear sway-bar is the most dramatic handling change you can make to the MINI; track testing has shown not only does the sway-bar neutralize the handling, but it also provides better traction out of turns." To this end, our Rear Sway for the New Mini Cooper was developed in cooperation Edles Tuning of Germany. Countless were spent at the Nuremberg Ring by professional DTM Drivers evaluating different bend combinations and bar sizes to determine perfect balance and to achieve overall improved handling in all driving situations. With these specifications in hand, our Mini Rear Sway Bars are manufactured here in the United States with the greatest attention to quality, detail, and we may ad, with the greatest pride, from 4140 chrome moly spring steel. We believe that Chrome moly spring steal is what make our sway both unique and the superior choice for Mini Cooper Owners; after all, if a sway bar must work like a spring why should it not be made of the same material as a spring? Well, to save costs, most other after-market sway bars are cold formed with only the ends forged; as a result, they are inherently weaker at those ends and more vulnerable to deforming. In contrast, we spare no expense or craftsmanship as our bars are completely heat formed and coined as one piece to insuring great strength, durability, and shape retention. The 3 position adjustable bar is supplied with high quality teflon grease, polyurethane bushings, powder coated bracket, and retention collars to maintain position. Another feature exclusive to these bars is that texture finish achieved as a result of the forging process combined with powder coating serves to maintain lubrication within the bushing for extended quite operation not requiring periodic re-lubing. Please note that all the components and hardware in this sway are kit are supplied black to maintain the factory OEM look of your Mini. Lifetime warranty and instructions are included. Fits All Cooper S and Cooper models.
Keywords: rear sway bar adjustable
Web site: http://www.rspeed.net/mini


Mini-Driver
1st Gear

Registered: November 2004
Posts: 17
Review Date: 3/7/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Joseph at RSPEED great guy, great Vendor
Cons: Can\'t think of any!!!!!

The Vendor and the product I would rate as a 10.
But first a word about the vendor RSPEED MINI.
www.rspeed.net. IMOH there is no vender that comes close to what Joseph at RSPEED gives in the way of service, he is as good as it gets!!!!!

The RSPEED 22MM 3-Way Adujustable Sway Bar is masive, it is heat formed 4140 chrome moly spring steel and comes with masive and very well made retention collars to maintain position.

This bar may weigh more then other bars on the market being made of 4140 chrome moly spring steel, but has shown no sign\'s of fading under some very intense or spirted driving. There has been no change in ride comfort. I have noticed a dramatic inprovement in the way the car drives, You will need to relearn how the car drives.

It\'s got more capability than I\'ve had the nerve to fully explore. The car drives like it\'s on a rail under all conditions. First driving impressions on the freeway it changes lanes with a great deal more precision, long sweeping banked turn OH YA. I went through a banked turn mark for 40MPH at 80MPH man what a thrill. Low seed turns you can really feel the extra bite from the front end.

The one downside is that you have less indication that your tires may start losing grip. Prior to the stiffer sway bar, you could tell you might lose grip by how far the car leaned. It\'s not dangerous; you just have to relearn the car\'s limits. And learn the limits of your tires, you will see very quickly just how poor the Run Flats from the factory are!!!!!

Chili Red Alert! Chili Red Alert!

Stay away from the U-turn lanes! A fiery Chili Red MINI with White top has been seen tearing through U-turns like a MINIac. Witnesses are reporting hearing a siren-like sound emanating from the MINI - \"woooooo-hoooooooo!\"



strider209
3rd Gear

Registered: February 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 222
Review Date: 3/27/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Greatly improves handline/very informative vendor and quick shipping
Cons: None yet though installation was a hassle for me

This review comes from someone who does not consider himself to be mechanically inclined. I do have an interest in cars and love to drive. I won\'t get too in depth on the description of the bar. You can read about it on the vendor\'s website. The swaybar truly has an OEM look but is heavier and bigger. Installation was a hassle for me but worthwhile. I got a great price via ebay auction from the vendor. Product was delivered in a timely manner. Customer service is good and they were very knowledgeable. An aftermarket supercharger pulley is said to be the best performance mod for the Mini especially considering bang for the buck. I believe the same goes for the rear swaybar for suspension. I haven\'t driven my Mini much since the bar has been put in but I noticed the wheel is more responsive and there is much less body roll/lean, especially when making hard turns! I recommend this product highly...it has 3 different settings, greatly improves handling and has a great price!
BUMBL BEE
Neutral

Registered: May 2005
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 6
Review Date: 5/27/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent product, first class vendor!
Cons: None

Well made product of high quality. R-Speed very easy to deal with, they shipped quickly and with no outrageous \"handling\" charge. Very good instruction booklet came with the nbar and I had it in in about an hour. It is not difficult if you know how BMW designs and builds its rear suspensions - there are some tricks.

I first set the bar to the softest setting and it was a good improvement, but as a road racer, I wanted it stiffer. I have it on the middle setting and it drives well, but if you are going hard into a corner, don\'t back off or the back will definitely take over. I recommend the middle and hard settings only for those with high performance or racing driving experience. The soft setting still allows some oversteer washout to keep those less experienced out of (too much) trouble.
SheaJeff
2nd Gear

Registered: August 2005
Posts: 141
Review Date: 9/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $170.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Customer Service, Technical Knowledge, High Quality Product
Cons: None at all!

These guys were friendly, knowledgable, and shipped my bar quickly.
Their instructions were clear and easy to follow and I had no problem installing it on my MCS.
This was a great purchase to make the car handle even better, and I\'m glad I bought it from these guys.
CSAMF
3rd Gear

Registered: February 2005
Posts: 219
Review Date: 4/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $210.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very responsive staff, great product
Cons:

Guys, don't even think twice about this upgrade. This bar is awesome. Instructions was very clear and even a beginner can install this, just get a buddy to help you. It's a "one beer" install. No special tools need, either. I've done all the same reseach you're doing but nothing beats this bar. Okay, you can go out and spend twice as much for a bar that is fully adjustable but come on, how many of us really feel like popping the wheels off every other day to try a new setting. Just set this one to the stiffiest setting and go! You'll love the improved handling.

I didn't need to call R-Speed for any help but I did misplace the lube. Those guys didn't hesitate to send me some more, at no cost. Oh, and while I'm at it, let me tell you that I originally purchased this bar through the "other" dealer who repackages this product but they failed to contact me about the back order there was on this product. I waited for over two weeks before I got fed up and called them. I cancelled my order and jumped on R-Speed.net and bamm, swaybar in the mail. Plus an email telling me when to expect my purchase. Oh, and I ordered my springs thru them and they didn't wait to ship them when they were available. Some companies wait, to ship everything all at once to save a few bucks.

trentf
2nd Gear

Registered: May 2005
Location: Cypress, Ca
Posts: 132
Review Date: 4/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cost. Quality.
Cons: None

As other has said, this is the single best handling modification available for the Mini Cooper. The R-Speed bar comes delivered with all needed hardware to install. The bushings are oversized and the retaining collars are of very high quality material. I have had this bar for nearly 4 months now on the middle setting for daily street driving. The car is much more predictable, and definently more of a blast to drive!
richsnuc
Neutral

Registered: January 2003
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 5
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $185.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Eliminates Understeer
Cons: Eliminates Understeer

I had an Alta bar on my 2003 MCS. When I traded her in on a 2006 MCS, I quickly realized how sweet the rear bar can be and how much I had taken the fabulous handling for granted. Although the stock car handles better than any other FWD car I've ever driven, the rear bar makes it even better.

I listed understeer elimination as a negative as it can certainly surprise a driver (like your spouse?) that is unaccustomed to the behavior of the car when one of the stiffer settings is selected.

I had
TChezem
2nd Gear

Registered: November 2008
Location: West Valley City, Utah
Posts: 99
Review Date: 11/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $160.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality of design and build
Cons:

This bar is great! I installed it on an '08 Clubman in about 1 1/2 hours, very easy to do. It fits well, and works great. The Clubman turns in faster and easier, and the rear end sits tighter to the ground in the corners. The fit and finish on the bar are A1.

If you're intstalling this on Clubman, remember your fuel tank is attached to the rear sub frame, so run down to empty before you put do the install. There is also no wiring harness to work around in the middle on the Clubman, as there is on the Cooper, which makes it much easier to install. In fact, I believe you could install this one, just by removing the struts and dropping the rear sub frame about 3/4", rather than disconnecting it compltetely, as I did. Just a possible short cut.

You can't go wrong with this sway bar. I am running it on the middle position for spirited city driving, and wow! what a difference. Anyone putting a sway bar on a Clubman, please feel fre to PM me, if you want any notes on installation.
970S
Neutral

Registered: November 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 7
Review Date: 12/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Well constructed and finished
Cons: Instruction sheets of poor quality. Over steer can be problematic for the novice.

It was a shame that the instruction sheets looked like fourth generation photocopies of the original. Hard to read, and the illustrations were almost useless as they were so dark.
TChezem
2nd Gear

Registered: November 2008
Location: West Valley City, Utah
Posts: 99
Review Date: 12/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Improve handling greatly!
Cons: May not fit the Clubman....

After having this bar on the Clubman for 3 weeks, I found a few little bumps in the night. After doing some checking for loose bolts, etc. I noticed that the R Speed bar clears the upper unibody on the Clubman buy 2 to 4 mm, too tight of tolerance. I knew it was close when I installed it, and watched it closely. In the warm weather, the first two weeks I had it on, it worked great. When it got cold here in Utah (30 degrees) I started getting an occasional small rattle in the back of the Clubman. The bar was meeting with the unibody gently. Dang! I love the bar, and still rate it highly. My advice to Clubman owners, stay with a 17mm bar. The unibody to rear sub clearance in the Clubman is very tight. I know this bar fits the Regular R56 very well, and reccomend it highly. However, it is not for a Clubman. I am back to the stock sponge bar now, and will be trying in a 17mm bar shortly. Motor on!


 
Users 151,121
Products 522
Reviews 1,167
Views 15,143,798

Random Products - Sway Bars
322810r_lg.jpg
H-Sport Competition Rear Bar
Mark
nms2007.jpg
Whiteline 20mm Rear Sway Bar
OldRick

Way Motor Works 340,836
Out Motoring MINI Af... 245,695
ALTA MINI Performanc... 210,597
Alta Performance Col... 202,219
Coast to Coast USA 171,782
Cooper Flags 169,449
American Mini Mates 169,311
Burger Motorsports 167,389
Cooper Gear 166,751
Whalen Machine 165,059
brownflyer 164,108
Coopersport.com 159,890
MINCORSA 151,127
Aesthetic Creations 149,354
Mini-Madness 144,270
Palo Uber Mini 142,168
Pilo Racing Mini Coo... 127,794
Do It Yourself Hot A... 117,084
Helix Minisports Hel... 99,392
DDMWorks R56 Race In... 96,783
DDMWorks R56 Street ... 94,612
Craven Speed 88,149
Mini Works 83,790
ShowCarDetailing.com... 82,720
Euro Styles East 82,119


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Advertisement

MINI CooperMINI Cooper PrivacyMINI Cooper Terms of UseMINI Cooper Guidelines MINI Cooper Advertising The North American MINI Cooper Community
  MINI Cooper news, forums, FAQs, and reviews for enthusiasts and owners of the North American MINI Cooper
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.
 Copyright © 2002-2008 North American Motoring. All Rights Reserved.     Powered by vBulletin and vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.



Powered by vBulletin and vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
North American Motoring is an independently operated web site supporting MINI owners and enthusiastsworldwide. As such it has no official relationship with MINI USA, BMW AG, or BMW of North America.All original artwork and design is Copyright © 2002-2004 North American Motoring.
Admin Account Passwords