MINI Cooper MINI Cooper specs
 

Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to North American Motoring !
Welcome to North American Motoring,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!



IASS-4_angle_slice_800x500.jpg
>

Reviews Views Date of last review
17 8941 3/3/2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2.00 10.0
IASS-4_angle_slice_800x500.jpg


supersize

supersize

supersize
IMG_1711_e.jpg
supersize
IMG_1217_e.jpg
supersize

Description: The Integral Audio Soundstage upgrade for the MINI is a complete amplified 3-way speaker upgrade. The system is literally designed around the MINI: the speakers are designed for the vehicle, their acoustic response is measured in place and the crossovers are designed based on that data giving you a sound system that is perfectly tailored EXACTLY vehicle. Every bit of hardware is CAD designed and precision machined for a perfect fit and a completely stealth installation. Paired with our subwoofer system, it is the PERFECT premium sound system for MINI - not even the most expensive of aftermarket systems can replicate it.

EVERYTHING you need is included, down to the last screw!
Keywords: Speaker Upgrade Sound System Amplifier Wiring
Web site: http://www.integralaudio.com/index.p...oofer-r56.html


lisemini
1st Gear

Registered: July 2011
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 35
Review Date: 3/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Powerful system, crisp and clear sound, integrates perfectly with MINI
Cons:

I am thrilled with the Soundstage + Subwoofer in my coupe - it exceeds my expectations for audio quality, deep bass, preservation of boot space. This system is the perfect audio upgrade solution with plenty of power and worth every penny.

My long commute is the now the favorite part of my day!
onefish2
6th Gear

Registered: November 2008
Location: Nanuet, NY
Posts: 1892
Review Date: 3/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Totally transormed the audio in my MINI
Cons: I wish this was avilable sooner. I had to suffer with the horrible stock system for a few years

The Soundstage and Sub are a terrific audio upgrade for your MINI. Its nice to know that these are not just some off the shelf products that a guy in a car audio store pushed on you. This product was custom designed for our cars by someone who is detail oriented and it shows from the sound quality of the system to the quality of the components used. I am very happy with this upgrade. It was well worth the wait.
HaloZero
Neutral

Registered: May 2009
Location: Glenolden, PA
Posts: 7
Review Date: 3/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Top down time never sounded so clean
Cons: Would have liked a 12 :))

The soundstage is something that will clear up any issues with the internals, esp the 09 when it wasn't a true Harmon Kardon. Driving on the highway with the top down... NO worries! The subwoofer is fantastic, keeping my trunk is something I really wanted to do this time, I had a Cabrio with a pair of 10s and no trunk, it took a bit of tweaking to get the right levels but with Kevin's help it's where it needs to be and the clarity and bump still make it to the front of the car with the top down. Nothing better on the market without full custom work.
Albiecrazy
Smooth...

Registered: March 2009
Location: Eastern Long Island, NY
Posts: 1849
Review Date: 3/31/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Crisp, full range of sound
Cons: NONE!

Quite simply - a work of art. Just got back from a 1,000 mile road trip and my passenger was blown away! The Soundstage is so far superior to the H/K and Hi Fi that there is really no comparison! Deep bass, clear mid-range, crisp hi's and no distortion at high volume. If you want great sound taylor-made for the MINI, there is no better option out there!!!
white3
3rd Gear

Registered: December 2009
Location: Redmond, Wa
Posts: 288
Review Date: 4/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect fit and amazing sound!
Cons: None

I think it is fair to say that this is one of the best car stereos I have ever owned. The clarity and presence is breathtaking.
BrewSwapGuy
Formerly PassatDoTd

Registered: November 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1811
Review Date: 4/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound quality, kit quality, design
Cons: Cost

The Ordering/Customer Service

Easily one of the best things about the system is dealing Kevin at Integral. He's quick to respond and seems to have endless patience with questions. He was very helpful with my pre-purchase, install and tuning questions. Big thumbs up.

The Product/Install Kit

Saying it's comprehensive is an understatement. Literally EVERY thing you need (down to a roll of electrical tape) is in this thing. No runs to the store...no wondering what you might need that you don't already have. I had two MINI owners with previous car audio industry install experience (years) both comment multiple times on how thorough Integral with putting the kit together.

The speakers and sub all looked very nice and of high quality. Of course looks don't ensure great sound but you'll see later that's not a worry here.

The Install

The instructions are just as thorough as the kit but that doesn't mean I'd do it myself. I'm not the best DIY guy so I had some experience guys do it. But I watched step by step and the instructions will take you through all you need to have it look like it's factory and sound like it's supposed to. The only install issue worth mentioning (and I've already told Kevin it'd be wise to add this to the instructions) is that when we took off the door panel on the passenger side we bumped the door lock switch lever out of its place. We couldn't get it back in properly without removing the rest of the door which includes the glass. In the end we left it as it is (slightly sticking up) as it does not impact the door locking or unlocking with the remote, switch or door handle. We didn't bump it on the driver side so it's simply a matter of being mindful of that thing when you're working on it.

The Sound

I'm going to lump the review of the whole thing together as opposed to reviewing the Sub sound and the Soundstage sound.

As a whole this system is pretty damn sweet. It's taken a couple weeks now but I'm finally settling into the right volumes for the different styles of music I listen to AND the different forms of media (CD vs iPhone vs Sat Radio). I am now listening at an overall lower volume because the music is so much cleaner, clearer and more crisp. The sub adds so much life to the styles I listen to and if you want it to it'll shake your kidneys...hard.

I mainly listen to heavy metal, electronic, sports radio, movie scores and some hip hop. With this system I'd rank them as follows (from best sounding to not the best sounding): Electronic, Heavy Metal, Movie Scores, Hip Hop and Sports Radio. The last 4 are all fairly close but electronic music is by far the leader here. And it isn't just because the low end is now spectacular. The mids and highs are so clear and precise that the other styles just can't match how good it sounds.

Kevin has pointed this out in various threads but how the music was recorded and the media type make a big difference in how good the sound quality will be. If you listen to Trip Like I Do from The Crystal Method on my iPhone it sounds really good. If I put in the Remastered 10th Anniversary CD and listen to that track it's jaw dropping. Keep that in mind.

Overall

The bottom line question anyone should ask is, in hindsight is the system worth the high cost? The answer is yes for 2 reasons:

1. The system is a huge improvement over the "upgraded" HK system that I had. No more distortion at mid to upper volume levels. No more muddiness. No having to turn down the bass and miss out on some great piece of the music because I want to have the mids and highs louder. It's clear this system was designed for this car just from the sound alone. Two thumbs up.

2. Any non-MINI owner would NEVER know this system is in the car. The sub is invisible, the amp is invisible, the speakers all go in the factory places. The sub volume knob is the only item visible and it blends in so well I doubt anyone not looking would notice. This was big for me because I don't want to be a target for theft AND I don't necessarily want people to know I have a nice system. In addition I had to give up very little space to have this incredible sound.

If you can afford it I don't see how you could be disappointed with the end results.

Hit me up if you have any questions I can answer.

Matt
bjh
Neutral

Registered: September 2011
Review Date: 5/9/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: well thought out design & great sound
Cons: no sub for Clubman yet

I had the Soundstage installed in my Clubman by a high quality shop and even they commented on the quality of the speakers and the sound. The Subwoofer is still in development so I will have to wait to hear the full system. Can't say enough about how easy it is to work with Kevin.
gar56
Neutral

Registered: December 2011
Location: santa cruz mountains
Posts: 4
Review Date: 6/11/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: performance
Cons: none

If you’re looking to improve your sound system but worry about the final result, you’re like me. A long search brought me to Integral Audio who offers a the complete solution for my MINI. Not interested in a parts bin cobble, I was looking for a completely engineered system for my car. After installing their “Soundstage” upgrade in my ’09 R57 – I could not be happier with it's rich sound. Now my MINI finally has the “premium stereo" promised by BMW but never delivered! This isn’t a 5 minute job, so I’d recommend an installer for those with a tight schedule. My experience was not without a few moments, as with a lot of installers mine had issues. I reached out to Kevin at Integral who held their hand until a workmanship issue was resolved. Now I can hear my music top down with the Alta exhaust pounding away. I wholeheartedly recommend the products of Integral – particularly because of their commitment to their customers like me. Thanks again Kevin!
george
codesad
1st Gear

Registered: November 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Review Date: 8/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Separation, Clarity, Design
Cons: none

To start, there are a few words loosely used today and some of those are passion, care and brilliance. This is one instance where I can honestly use all of them without second thoughts. I was fortunate enough to work alongside Kevin Bennett installing the new Soundstage System in my 2009 Mini S. I live in Jersey so I drove into Manhattan and picked Kevin up at his place of residence and we drove to Brooklyn where he has his Research and Development Facility. We arrived and did a lot of talking, some working, and more talking & talking. Coming from the residential audio side of things, there was a common denominator for the both of us which kept us from focusing totally on the install and talking more about the product and its inner workings and how it came to be. Kevin is one very intellectual individual who has any question covered when it comes to how a speaker really, truly works. From the magnet design to the sub enclosure to the crossovers, Kevin definitely has more than a handle on what is actually going on. His “passion” for what he does is the first thing you will notice when working with or conversing about the subject. His “care” for the customer is just something that is not found nowadays! My mini was treated as if it were his own. We worked an extra long day, having arrived at 7am and finally headed out about 11pm. This was due to the constant conversation about audio that we both just didn’t seem to get tired of. (If anyone get’s to work with Kevin, an extremely interesting conversation would be about Cielo. Ask him about Cielo for a captivating convo). Anyway, back to the “care” part of things….We had a slight technicality when we were all said and done (which was around 8pm), but Kevin insisted we troubleshoot. Now keep in mind, this was already 12 hours after we first linked up in Manhattan. We were both tired, but we did troubleshoot for another 2 plus hours. I gotta hand it to Kevin on this one, after 12 hours of working and constantly thinking and talking, to start a troubleshooting process at that hour was just unbelievable. Although we didn’t resolve the issue that night, Kevin made time for me to swing back into the city again to pinpoint the issue. Of course, turned out to be something simple, but when you’re so involved in something, sometimes you seem to not think it could be so simple. After having resolved the minor issue we were having, Kevin dialed in the sound. The clarity was instantly present. The separation achieved from the soundstage system in such a small space is remarkable! I have had the soundstage now for a few months and I am still blown away on how clean it really is. I initially bought the original subwoofer enclosure from Kevin a couple years ago to add to the 10 speaker system I upgraded to when I bought my 2009 r56. I couldn’t believe they sold a 10 speaker system without a subwoofer!! Horrible!! I wish I would have known that before I made the choice to upgrade! Now, with a 10 speaker system, and NO low end, I started to do some research and found IA and reached out to Kevin about the enclosure and how I wasn’t looking to lose any space and keep the factory look. I didn’t want any mods or issues, since I have the head end NAV unit and was really looking for what the 10 speaker upgrade should have included – A Sub enclosure! I went on all of Kevin’s recommendations when I bought that enclosure as far as what sub to use and what amp to go with. I had my own choices (as an audio installer myself), but I know when I recommend an amp or a speaker to a client, I do know better than they do and they go with my recommendations. So, I took all the recommendation he gave me and proceeded to do the install myself. This is where I realized how much he actually “cared” about the customer. I had a few questions during the install, and in real time, I would get a response to every email I sent him within 15 minutes. There wasn’t a 5 hour turn-around time or 24/48hr. response time or anything like that. It’s like he was right there with me when I did the first install. I of course logged into the NAM forums and gave a write up of how awesome the support level was. This time around, having had the opportunity to work with Kevin directly was a great experience. The guy is truly “brilliant”. If anyone is debating the IA Soundstage vs. any other system or any other speaker or having a local shop talk you into doing something else, you will be disappointed if you go that route and then happen to one day get to listen to the soundstage neck and neck with the local shop install you decided to have done. Trying to describe the sound just doesn’t give it the justice it really deserves. It literally speaks for itself! If anyone is in the Central/Northern jersey area and is on the fence about making a decision, reach out to me and I would be more than happy to let you have a listen.
aseth
Neutral

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 2
Review Date: 8/28/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, ease of installation, EXCELLENT customer support
Cons: None

A unique review of the Integral Audio Soundstage + Sub audio upgrade. I installed the system for a vacation trip and then was in a position to sell the car two weeks later. That drove me to then pull the system from the car as the dealership did not consider the improvement in the price. The customer support was phenominal throughout both the install and removal. This was my first experience in installing this type of system and it was both straight forward and fun. There is nothing like working through a system, getting to see some of the inner aspects of your vehicle, and then reaping the rewards of that effort. Everything about the process was enjoyable and anyone who has a notion to do this upgrade should not hesitate, it is absolutely worth the cost, time, and effort. Again this was my first ever install of this nature so here is some detail that might be of interest; 1) Buy the specialty tools (torx bits for the seat belts and interior trim panel pry bars) as they will make those jobs easy. 2) Take your time, read, re-read, and read again. The instructions are good but being familiar with them makes each step that much easier. 3) When in doubt call Kevin. He is the expert and is absolutely comitted to customer service, you will not find better support anywhere else. and 4) Have fun and enjoy the experience. I was very anxious to get the system installed and hear the difference and it is a BIG difference, but looking back I can say the installation was also a big part of the overall experience and made it that much more enjoyable. And the last point I want to cover is the time frame. I spent about and hour and a half the first night getting all the interior parts disassembled and ready to start the install. Frome there it took almost six hours to complete the installation and get the interior buttoned up and vacation ready (threw in a complete interior detail while the access was there). On the flip side, it took less than four hours to uninstall the system and return the system to the factory original. This was mainly due to the fact that I was familiar with everything at that point so I was able to work faster. I can say without a doubt that I would do this again and would work with Integral Audio and Kevin if the opportunity presents itself. If this is something that you are considering I will tell you to not hesitate, the results & experience are fantastic, and the customer support is better.
bjornhammer
1st Gear

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 13
Review Date: 10/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb Clarity - Wonderful Support and Install Guide
Cons: Not a factory option

My first experience with Integral began a few years back with a Roadstersound Sub for my R53. I was delighted with the product and had no way of knowing how much more the folks behind it had in store. At the time, I just wanted some dedicated low end without losing what little cargo space I already had. They provided me a solution that was exactly that.

Earlier this year I moved to an R56 and I knew that there was absolutely no way I could possibly live with the horrendous stock Boost stereo. After doing some research here I came to the frustrating conclusion that my R56 was infinitely more fickle and far less friendly to aftermarket sound gear than my previous MINI. Fortunately for me, Integral was there again with a solution beyond just a box of speakers. Sure, it is a box full of speakers but what you get is so much more. Not only do they include some excellent hardware but much more importantly, they deliver an experience that should last as long as you keep your MINI (Or longer should you take it with you). Getting there might be a little challenging at times (due mostly to some crazy fiddly plastic bits) but so long as the instructions are understood and followed anyone with a little technical inclination shouldn't have any trouble elevating their sound system to unmatched heights. Should you hit any bumps along the way Kevin (as I'm sure the rest of the Integral team) are there to help. You will find nothing but praise for their customer service and unnwavering commitment to the product. Personally, my install went very smoothly aside from a shredded cable (my fault). The bottom line is, the installation process should not deter anyone interested in buying this product.

Previous to the install, listening to music in my MINI was an awful dissapointing practice. Though I thoroughly love driving my 2nd Gen. the soundtrack accompanyment was severely crippled. I've only had my soundstage+SW installed for two days but I can confidently say that the Integral kit is just as exciting as the rest of my MINI. An 'Integral' part of my driving happiness (sorry, it had to be said).

Final thoughts:
The sound you recieve with this kit is bar none some of the best I have ever heard in any vehicle. Just like any other sound system, you will need to take some time with it. Really listen and fine tune. This is a small step and sometimes forgotten but it really goes a very long way to making everything sound just as you would like it.

I was fortunate enough to be in the market for this system right around the time a very limited group buy offer was presented here on NAM. Though that definitely expedited the process I would have picked it up at full price and been just as pleased with the end result as I am now. If you are thinking about putting together a quality system on your own, you may save some money but in the long run, I don't know that any off the shelf kit will come close the the clarity and absurd level of detail that seems to have been poured into this product. Furthermore, the level of thought and detail that went into the installation guide and components is well worth whatever savings you might think you are getting with an alternative.

So, if you are suffering from stock sound system syndrome and have the means, time, and ability to withstand phenomenal, jaw dropping audio each and every time you take your MINI out for a drive, do yourself a favor and order an Integral Soundstage+SW ASAP.
rccyber
Neutral

Registered: April 2013
Posts: 10
Review Date: 6/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound Quality, Fit and finish
Cons: None

Where to start, Well first off one might say after spending $40,000 on a new 2013 GP #0016 i'd be "Nuts" to spend another 2 grand on a sound system. But to anyone who knows the car it's a work or art and a Blast to drive. But where it's lacking, as all other Mini's, are is in the sound. The sound plain and simple is Horrible! So in my search of a solution to my problem i came across Integral Audio, and boy am i glad i did. This sound system is awesome!!! IMO it's worth every penny and more. The separation of sound and clarity is amazing! You could tell that the people who put it together new exactly what they were doing. Everything has it's place, the highs the mids the lows the crossover's the amp. It all fits like a glove and when you power it up. WOW!!!
It also has to be said that customer service is top notch, A+
Kevin Bennett was their every step of the way from pre sale questions to final install. Kevin thank you!
So if any of you Mini owner's out their are on the fence and can no longer put up with your stock sound system, bit the bullet and get the Integral Audio SoundStage+Sub system you won't be disappointed.
Sundrenched
Neutral

Registered: July 2013
Posts: 2
Review Date: 8/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All in one kit!!
Cons: None

This review is a bit premature since I just ordered both the Soundstage + Subwoofer from Integral Audio but haven't received it or actually installed it in my car. However, before I ordered, I did some research and emailed questions to Kevin Bennett and decided that this product was exactly what I was looking for in a car audio system. Kevin's professionalism and patience in answering my questions was the one thing that persuaded me in making this purchase.

I will let everyone know how the install goes and how it sounds as soon as I finish the system (yes, my son and I are going to install it ourselves).
tom.moran
Neutral

Registered: November 2012
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 9
Review Date: 11/11/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Sound! Good Instructions. Complete Kit
Cons: None

I also installed the IA Soundstage & Subwoofer last weekend. I must say there is a big downside to this install. But before I get to that:
The install took me about 9 hours, but that included putting down Dynamat wherever there was an opportunity. If I did it again, I'm confident I could hit the target 6 hours. I'm not all that competent with interiors and had to scratch my head a time or two to figure out what to do.
The sound is amazing. So much so that I pulled up a song on my I-Pod and was suddenly disappointed at the quality of the sound. Let me digress for a second ... I was always wondering about all the posts regarding the quality level of MP3's. For me, honestly I never really understood the posts regarding the poor quality of MP3's relative to MP4/Apple Lossless. Trust me with the IA Soundstage + SW it's real! I probably don't have the audiophile's ears, but with the IA system, I can hear the difference clearly.
Therefore the downside to installing the system is you will need to re-burn any of your songs recorded as MP3's or stick with your CD for your listening pleasure.
As everyone else has stated, Kevin was a pleasure to work with. This is the type of company I have no problem parting my hard earned money with. They did a great job putting this system together and I'm confident I couldn't do better at twice the price.
Sundrenched
Neutral

Registered: July 2013
Posts: 2
Review Date: 11/13/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Complete Kit!!!
Cons: None

As promised I'm letting you know how my install is going but first I need to let you know that there was a delay in getting my kit and the delay was in my most definitely in my favour as I received the brand new wiring harness that is going to make the installation very easy.

Second and unfortunately the weather here has turned colder and I don't have a heated garage so my good intentions of installing the kit with my son have vanished as I have decided to have the installation done by a trusted professional installer that has done other work for me in the past.

As I write the installation is still taking place although they've stopped for the day. I'm hoping that I can insert some photos that were taken today and I'm looking forward to getting my car tomorrow to hear the final product.

Darn, I don't know how to insert a photo... the insert image is looking for a http:\\ and I don't know what they want? Can anyone help me?
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


 
Users 146,820
Products 522
Reviews 1,149
Views 14,929,028

Random Products - Speakers
IASS-4_angle_slice_800x500.jpg
Integral Audio Soundstage
Integral Audio

Way Motor Works 337,140
Out Motoring MINI Af... 244,491
ALTA MINI Performanc... 208,938
Alta Performance Col... 200,570
Coast to Coast USA 170,401
American Mini Mates 168,049
Cooper Flags 167,870
Burger Motorsports 165,908
Cooper Gear 165,173
Whalen Machine 163,077
brownflyer 162,948
Coopersport.com 158,597
MINCORSA 149,755
Aesthetic Creations 148,413
Mini-Madness 143,244
Palo Uber Mini 141,071
Pilo Racing Mini Coo... 126,700
Do It Yourself Hot A... 116,378
Helix Minisports Hel... 98,708
DDMWorks R56 Race In... 95,697
DDMWorks R56 Street ... 93,460
Craven Speed 87,519
Mini Works 82,940
ShowCarDetailing.com... 82,079
Euro Styles East 81,323


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.

Advertisement

MINI CooperMINI Cooper PrivacyMINI Cooper Terms of UseMINI Cooper Guidelines MINI Cooper Advertising The North American MINI Cooper Community
  MINI Cooper news, forums, FAQs, and reviews for enthusiasts and owners of the North American MINI Cooper
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.
 Copyright © 2002-2008 North American Motoring. All Rights Reserved.     Powered by vBulletin and vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin and vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
North American Motoring is an independently operated web site supporting MINI owners and enthusiastsworldwide. As such it has no official relationship with MINI USA, BMW AG, or BMW of North America.All original artwork and design is Copyright © 2002-2004 North American Motoring.
Admin Account Passwords