Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Will these brake pads fit my JCW caliper?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2015, 09:53 AM
jveramini
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will these brake pads fit my JCW caliper?

Hi all,

I have very little mecanic experience and I don´t feel 100% confident that these pads below will fit my JCW Calipers. I was wondering if you guys could give me a hand with the pads below and if the front brakes require a sensor as well? (I have a 2012 R56 Mini Cooper S with the JCW brake, exhaust, engine kit).

Amazon.com: StopTech 309.12040 Street Performance Front Brake Pad: Automotive Amazon.com: StopTech 309.12040 Street Performance Front Brake Pad: Automotive

Thanks in advance!

Old 08-05-2015, 01:25 PM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 281 Likes on 237 Posts
using the 'will they fit' tool on the item I get

Front High Performance Pads, JCW BRAKES - 294MM FRONT DISC - SINGLE PISTON CALIPER

would I trust this?

Frankly if I had a JCW I'd buy my pads and rotors from WAY after discussing my needs/wants with him ...

I've only had S's and I still bought from WAY . . . I got good recommendations and have always been happy with the results for myself and others I steered to him. (not a paid advertisement ... but if you WANT to send me a check . . .)

there is only a sensor on the left front and if you 'triggered' the sensor then it must be replaced. Trigger = consume in this case. If it was not consumed then in theory it can be reused BUT IME they are difficult to remove without breaking them as the heat has baked 'em and the part in the pad is brittle and crumbles b4 I can get it out.

I recommend you either buy a new sensor b4 you begin

or do what I did and just jumper the sensor circuit. They are dumb anyway

"sensors? I don't need no stinkin' sensors"