Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Timing belt "just fell off" ('07 Cooper S)

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 05:06 AM
moonbird
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing belt "just fell off" ('07 Cooper S)

I've had a problem prone 2007 Mini Cooper S which is now in the dealer's shop after a major (potentially fatal) failure. Not being a mechanic, I'm really curious if I'm being potentially mislead.

The backstory: this car was bought new in '07, and since has had lots of nickel and dime problems, including: a clutch that went out fairly early on; electrical system faults; and weird sounds from the engine and to the right that were never diagnosed. I've struggled with the professionalism of the dealership, from hard selling an "extended service plan" that didn't actually cover repairs, to outright lying about labor and installation costs after selling a discounted accessory.