How To Maintenance :: Changing REAR Brake Pads for Beginners!

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2005, 10:31 AM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Maintenance :: Changing REAR Brake Pads for Beginners!

CAUTION: PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK
As with all mods or DIY articles, the information provided here is without warranty. I am providing the steps for your information, but beware that problems may occur and that you accept full responsibility. Should you encounter any problems, please take a deep breath and post your problems to this thread and we will all do our best to assist you. I am not a professional mechanic. In fact, this was my first time working on brakes, but I spent many weeks researching this subject.

MINI REAR Brake Pad Installation
Changing your brake pads is a very rewarding DIY project. This tutorial focuses specifically on giving you the complete picture on how to replace your OEM pads and Brake Pad sensor for the front axle. After you've done this yourself, changing the rotors or upgrading to aftermarket pads is a breeze!

Background Story
Back in March, or about 2 months ago, I noticed a yellow symbol light above my OEM nav system next to the seat belt warning light, indicating that one set of my brake pads needed replacement. After some investigating, it was determined that the front set needed replacement, and I decided to wait for the rears. Well, the sensor light came on again last week, which turned out as expected to be my rear brake pads.

Remember, our MINI's have 2 sensors, one on the front left wheel and one on the right rear.